Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This turned out great! served over pasta with fresh veggies. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Fabulous recipe! I made it exactly as the recipe is written and it was wonderful! A huge hit with the family. I did not find the sauce too sweet. It was perfect for us. Maybe the type of red wine makes a difference. I used a Pinot Noir. Instead of basting the chicken while it cooked the last 20 minutes, I just turned it over so the chicken could soak up the gorgeous sauce and stay moist. Amazingly easy and delicious. Thank you for the keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Nothing special. I cut down on the sugar as recommended by other reviewers. It was still too sweet for me although the house smelled so wonderful. Easy prep, though. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I followed the directions exactly, even cut the sugar in half as one other reviewer recommended. I'm not sure if somehow I did something wrong but I ended up with a clumpy, weirdly sweet sauce and dried out chicken. I didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Halved recipe for a family of 4 and have a bit left over. Simply delicious. Served with mashed potatoes and a saute of red peppers, onions, and mushrooms. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I gave this 4 stars because I did find that using the scaled down measurements for the wine and the brown sugar was plenty of flavor. You can't go wrong with this chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was really delicious! We love red wine, so I figured I couldn't go wrong with this recipe. I added in a few extra cloves of garlic and reduced the brown sugar to just half a cup. I added about a teaspoon of cornstarch/water mixture to thicken up the sauce at the end and served it with steamed broccoli and garlic mashed potatoes (we also love garlic)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyAccountant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was really good, my family loved it...I only gave it four stars because I adjusted the receipe per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Followed the instructions of the others and did not put as much brown sugar. I added mushrooms and cornstarch to thicken the sauce. This was really good. I will make it again. The next time, I will add some creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made this last night for dinner. We served it over roasted veggies (peppers/onions/carrots/mushrooms). I thought this recipe was delicious, but definitely the sauce needed some adjustments. I like having lots of extra sauce with my dishes so I actually doubled the red wine, cut down on the sugar (using 1/2 cup per 1 cup of red wine). I didn't have any brown sugar on hand so I added a little maple syrup to white sugar as a substitute. It worked out pretty well (LOL). My husband took extra veggies and put some sauce on them because it was so good. Next time I make this I think I might try adding a little butter to the red wine sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States