Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is so good my kids always ask me to make this dish! The only change I make is to use boneless skinless chicken thighs rather than breasts because. The thighs add a little extra flavor & are so moist they are basically fool-proof to cook. I usually use Pinot Noir for the wine but have used several other reds always with great results. I usually serve this with Roasted Garlic Mashed potatoes also from this site & a side salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I think the commenters are correct in suggesting less brown sugar. I used about 1.5 tablespoons of brown sugar and two tablespoons of black strap molasses, plus a bit more than a cup of red wine. The molasses really added a beautiful color and flavor, plus a nice viscosity. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is one of my "go-to" recipes. My husband and I love it. I double the wine and keep the whole cup of brown sugar - we like sauce. I chop onion and mushrooms and saute with the garlic. Also, to make the sauce a little thicker I remove some of the wine liquid, add some corn starch, and slowly stir back in. We serve over egg noodles. Yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Used a little less sugar and a smidge more wine. Turned out fantastic, and nearly effortless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
A simple and delicious dish. I came across this recipe when I was searching for a way to get rid of some leftover red wine in my fridge. I made it with 12 chicken wings and have followed other users' comments to cut down the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. I also fried the chicken first, took it out, made the sauce by first sauteeing onions and garlic before adding the chicken back to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was delish EVEN though I totally screwed it up...Note to all cooks: Splenda Brown Sugar DOES NOT measure the way regular brown sugar does lol! Even though it was crazy sweet, this was still easy and delicious. Serve over noodles and with a crusty bread to dip in the sauce, yum!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This recipe wasn't as good as I thought it was going to be - probably my fault - I'm going to make it again and see what happens. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Forest City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
It's my favorite chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So easy and very good. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Next time I will cut it down even more, to 1/4 cup. My husband and 3 year old loved it too. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmelliott55
Home Town: Honeoye, New York, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States