Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I cut down the sugar and paprika to a sprinkle on both sides. Other than the dry chicken, I did enjoy the flavor. Ten mins per side is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iclaudius

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Good, but a little too sweet for my family's liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I did cut the sugar down and added mushrooms. It was delicious and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
just tried and my family enjoyed it thanks alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
It was an ok dinner for me, but my picky hubby really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I followed the directions of sheinshine with a twist and it was a hit! I used boneless skinless thighs and seasoned the chicken before browning it with seasoning salt and cayenne. I then removed it from the pan and sautéed ONIONS and garlic in the pan drippings. From there, added just 1/2 cup of red wine and 1/2 cup of chicken broth and 1/4 cup of brown sugar (instead of putting it directly in the chicken). I let it come to a boil, stirred in a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. Then I put the chicken back in the pan to simmer 10 minutes per side. I had planned on sautéing spinach to go with it, but got lazy, so I just added it to the chicken when there was just 3 minutes left. Great 1-pot meal (though I decided to serve it over brown rice--so not quite one-pot). DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I simply followed the instruction to the letter and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Here is my version from last night let me first say I hate meat and almost never eat it I am sad to say I cleaned my plate.. I only used 4 chicken thighs skin on I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, paprika garlic powder browned the chicken in my Dutch oven with oil and a tad of butter did not cook it all the way, removed it and tossed the skin yuck, tossed in some onions & the brown sugar (1/4 cup) I know wrong place but his is how I brown my onions I think it can take less. Let them brown for a while then added mushrooms brown, Drained off all the fat left in the pot. I added 1 cup stock scraped up all the bits added the wine I used 1/2 cup wine (pinot noir). Set the burner on 3 cooked for an hour or so turning once. Took out the chicken here is where I must have read too many recipes I had thought it called for a corn starch slurry. So I mixed some starch with water added it to the broth tossed the chicken back in and let it do its thing till veggies were done. Happy mistake as this amazing concoction was just thick enough to stick to the chicken and potatoes yum yum yum thanks so much I was no trying to insult you with the changes this is a keeper it made my husband want to lick his plate clean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneMarie Avallone

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I cut the brown sugar in half (per the recommendations), and the BF and I both agreed that it was still too sweet. I added two small onions and sauteed them with the chicken. I did add 1 tablespoon of butter to the wine sauce, and some corn starch to thicken. I served over pasta, but it didn't really compliment well. If I made it again, I would probably use 1/4 cup brown sugar, keep the sweet cream butter, add whipping cream and a small amount of corn starch-- that combination would probably go well with pasta. I served it with garlic bread and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I loved this recipe though altered it a little. I did 3/4 cup shiraz, 1/4 cup chicken stock, and 1/4 cup brown sugar. I sauteed baby portobello mushrooms with red onion and garlic in olive oil first. Then, I browned the chicken seasoned with salt and pepper. Once almost all cooked through, I added back in the mushroom mixture and added the wine mixture and let it simmer until the chicken was done. I added a little cornstarch mixed with water to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States