Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
the sauce was the best, almost cranberry like in flavor. I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and added chicken stock with a bit of thickener as I was using an entire chicken cut up and needed a longer simmer time with bone in pieces. Would love to add a photo but it seems the pixels are insufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nanton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Simply amazing. You can change the flavor of the dish with different wine choices. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is very good an super easy to make. Use a wine you love an this will be a weekly make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This chicken came out sooooo yummy!! That sauce is amazing! I took the suggestions of most of the reviews and put less sugar. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Amazing! I followed the recipe without changing a thing. My family devoured it. One of our weekly favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
It tasted awkward. The brown sugar clashed with the red wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This came out quite tasty! I did not follow the exact recipe. I used less brown sugar (I sprinkled it in til I liked it), and then added some veggies and whole grain pasta. Came out great! I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Following the advice of several others, I made changes to this recipe. It turned out delicious! I started by sauteeing half an onion and a pound of fresh mushrooms. I removed them from the pan and then browned 5 chicken breasts which were seasoned on both sides with paprika, salt & pepper. I removed them from the pan, sauteed 2 cloves of garlic (about a teaspoon), and re-added the chicken with vegetables. Then, in went 1/2 cup merlot, 1/2 cup chicken stock and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Cook covered for 20 minutes on low-med heat, turning the chicken once. I served with steamed green beans, roasted potato wedges, and green salad. Rave reviews! Thanks everyone for helping me make a wonderful dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe! Following the advice of others, I salt and peppered the chicken first, then dredged in salt and peppered flour. Browned the chicken, added half an onion, garlic and mushrooms. ONLY added a heaping tablespoon of sugar and 3/4 cup of Merlot. Sides: Mashed potatoes, steamed broccoli and of course the unused Merlot :) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States