Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Just tasted like chicken cooked in wine. It had a weird purple color and tasted dry and sweet, in a weird way. The sauce was def not worth salvaging. Had to just chop up the chicken and use it for a quesadilla, extra cheese. I followed the recipe with the most popular suggestions for changing it. And not to be redundant, but if you all are changing more than 50% of the ingredients/measurements, something's obviously not right. Prob won't make again unless someone wants to tell me how to make it overwhelmingly better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Fantastic! I did use boneless chicken strips because that was all I had. For the sugar, most people said it was to much so I only used it to coat the chicken, closer to half the amount noted in the recipe. My husband was still talking about it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Pretty good chicken dish. As others have stated, way too much sugar so I scaled it back to 1/4 c for 4 breasts and it was still a little too sweet. I added onions, chile powder and cayenne for a little kick and let it simmer uncovered for 25 minutes. Served over sprouted pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was delicious ... Instead of chicken I made meaballs with diced onions in them. For the sauce, I added sauteed onions and mushrooms, used sherry and chicken broth because i didn't have red wine, I used much less sugar, and threw in some cayenne pepper--just a tiny bit, enough to give it a mild 'bite' along with the sweet. Served over mashed potatoes. Delicious! I only gave 4 stars because the original recipe should have included sauteed onions and mushrooms, in my humble opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a great base recipe, but I seldom ever use a recipe exactly as it's written because I like to adjust to my family's tastes. I reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 c, added butter when I was sauteeing the garlic and added fresh mushrooms and onions in the mix along with rubbed sage, rosemary & thyme. Before I put the chicken in with the veggies I sprinkled the paprika, salt, and pepper on the chicken. Cooked in my stainless steel pan on stove top on medium heat for about 12 minutes then put in the oven at 400 for about 35-40 minutes and thickened the sauce with cornstarch and used it to coat my spaghetti noodles and served with chicken on top and baked garlic and cheese pita chips. I also used Burgandy cooking wine because we don't drink and that's all I ever have on hand, but it gave it an amazing flavor. Was very yummy. Family ate it up! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was really good and so easy! It is a little sweet but I liked it that way. I love the hint of wine through the sweetness. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very Good Stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J*P*M*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This dish was delicious! The adjustemnts I made were to decrease the paprkia and brown sugar by half, only use 3/4 c wine and leave the lid off so it thickens better. Try it, you'll love it! I'm glad I cut the sugar back because I think it would have been too sweet with the full cup. As a side I made rice and mixed in 1 can of mushrooms and 1 can of peas. I poured some of the juice over the rice and the chicken and it was delicious! My husband and my 3 year old really enjoyed this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This did not go over well at all. The combination of overpowering sweetness and garlic were less than appealing. The wine needed reduction, having only been cooked covered for 20 minutes. Once reduced, the sweetness was cloying. I tried adding some reduced chicken stock, but sadly, that didn't salvage the dish. Ended up rescuing the chicken breasts, scraping all the sauce off and applying some tomato sauce and cheese. They were barely edible, as the sweet, winey flavor had permeated them completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Awesome, I used brown sugar spelnda instead (1/2 cup). I think was so yummy, but I have an uncureable sweet tooth :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States