Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was great! However, I did some alterations based on reviews: --added 1 small onion, sliced --added sliced mushrooms. Sauteed onion, shrooms, and garlic together in oil until mushrooms were soft and onions were browned. Removed veggies and set aside; browned chicken in pan after sprinkling with salt and pepper --reduced paprika to 1 1/2 tsp --reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup --put in 1/2 cup of red wine (all i had left) and 1/2 cup chicken broth Everything simmered (cover on) for 15 minutes; I added a bit of cornstarch at the end to make a thicker sauce. Taste is great!!! Slightly Asian in flavor. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent. I scaled this down to 2 servings and used a bone-in chicken breast. I added half an onion and sauteed it with garlic. I added a few Tbsp brown sugar (less than called for). It was very moist and tender. I served it with rice and green beans. My husband and I both loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was okay but nothing I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very very sweet and that was after decreasing the brown sugar almost by half. The other flavors were nice, but I will decrease the brown sugar even more next time and maybe add some red pepper flakes for contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Super Yummy! Followed other reviewers advice and reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup, added 1 cup chicken broth, and used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Also and some sauted onions and served over quinoa. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by totorothealmighty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made this and it was, in a word – EXCELLENT! We were really impressed. I basically made 1/3 of this recipe using about a pound of chicken, but made 1/2 the sauce. I cut the paprika in half and only used about 3 T. of brown sugar. I cooked my chicken completely and removed it to a warm oven. I then sautéed some mushrooms and proceeded with making the sauce. I thickened this with just a little cornstarch and swirled in a couple of tablespoons of butter. Then added back the chicken, coated it with sauce and served. It was delicious!! And so easy!! Just writing this review makes me want to make it again, and soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I really liked this recipe. Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
made this for the 1st time and my husband and kids love it... Very easy to make with little ingredients... made it two nights in a row because husband loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awalden123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belize City, Belize District, Belize
Living In: California City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I followed the other reviews and reduced the amount of sugar. This was wonderful.....I used a fruity Apple Barn (apple raspberry) wine....it gave it a nice flavor....hope it is as good without the Apple Barn wine!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llglass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Juicy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States