Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I went ahead and tried this too. Tried the suggestions with less sugar and paprika, same amount of wine. And it was okay. I don't think I'll be repeating it anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as given and it was fantastic. Served with sweet corn and brown rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used 1/4 c brown sugar and it was still wayyy too sweet. I wont be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
way, way, way too sweet! Nearly inedible the way it is. I had to add lots of mustard powder, vinegar, more garlic, etc. to make the leftovers edible. What a waste of chicken and wine. :( Next time I would add maybe only a Tbsp of brown sugar, not an entire cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very good and easy! Make sure to pound the chicken out if the pieces are thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I really liked this dish, but my husband was not a fan of the sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyCher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I have to admit that I was nervous as HECK about making this one after all the hit & miss reviews. In the end, I decided to take the advice of some of those who have gone before me. It's always better to err on the side of caution. :) So I doubled the garlic, cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup, cut the paprika down to 2 tsp, and bravely used the directed amount of red wine (a nice zinfandel). The flavors were perfect! I don't like to cook garlic in hot oil at the beginning of browning anything since it tends to burn & get bitter. Instead, I salt & pepper the chicken breasts and brown them, then added the garlic for the last 30 seconds or so of browning just to release the flavor, then followed Step 2 as instructed. Twenty minutes later -- I had delicious, caramely, tender chicken w/ a fabulous deep, dark color. Note that the instructions never tell you to turn down the heat, so I kept it covered & simmered over med-high heat. This helped reduce the sauce & really blend the flavors. We really enjoyed this chicken! Thanks for the great start! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup, red wine down to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup chicken broth. Served with brown rice. You can still taste the sweetness. Husband didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Big hit. Cut back wine (cheap stuff) and brown sugar to 3/4 cup. Sauteed onions, mushrooms, and couple TBL of chopped red pepper before browning chicken and added back for last 10 min. Blended in about one TBL of corn starch to thicken sauce a bit. Served with rice, peas, cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Awesome! Did a mushroom/onion saute first. Then cooked chicken breasts dredged in paprika/seasoned salt. Removed after about 5 min. per side and then made the sauce: Used the full 1 cup of wine, cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup and added 3/4 cup chicken broth and 1 tbsp cornstarch. Added back chicken/mushroom/onion and simmered for 20 minutes. Came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States