Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is excellent over penne. I did reduce sugar a lot (to about 1 tbsp) and doubled the paprika. I also added a chopped red bell pepper a little bit of bacon to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
very good, served over brown rice. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Gammill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
The adjustemnts I made were to decrease the paprkia and brown sugar by half, only use 3/4 c wine and leave the lid off so it thickens better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
not bad considering it was very easy.. I used some old strong merlot and I thought it was tasty.. the chicken was a bit dry though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
In addition reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup, I used half cup wine and half cup chicken stock. Also I cooked down the onions and mushrooms as others suggested. My own tweaks were to dredge the chicken tenders into flour, s&p, before a quick run through the oil which thickened the sauce. I also added about 1/4 cup of soy sauce and a shake of tabasco to the sauce. I put it all together in a baking dish and popped it in the oven for about 20 minutes @350 to let it all work together and served it with rice and broccoli. My husband said it was the best thing I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I cannot TELL you how impressed I am with this recipe. First time I made it exactly as written and it turned out great! Chicken was flavorful, TENDER, and even re-heated well (still moist!). Next time I may reduce the brown sugar to make the sauce a bit less sweet and experiment with increasing the garlic, but that's just nit-picking; boyfriend & I both liked this & it is a keeper!!! (Also, with the pan I was using I was unable to drain the oil, so I just added the other ingredients to it and I really don't think it made a difference on taste while saving a step.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was very good but didn't have enough sauce. I also took the advice of other reviewers and added mushrooms and decreases the amount of brown sugar by 1/2 at least. Overall, it was very tasty but needed some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeriamG
Living In: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I tried this thinking it would be fantastic and it just wasn't. I had to cut down on the sugar by more than half and it was still too sweet. The sauce was also very runny. I wouldn't recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is very similar tasting to a honey & Dijon mustard recipe on here however I find this to be the superior recipe. It is sweet like the other recipe but not as cloying. I didn't have a regular red wine so I used a nice Taylor Port. I should have added a bit more salt since the port was much sweeter then a usual red. There was just enough sauce to toss with noodles. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUIFAIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blueberry Grilled Chicken

Grilled chicken breasts get fancied up with a homemade blueberry gastrique!

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States