Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I followed the other reviews and reduced the amount of sugar. This was wonderful.....I used a fruity Apple Barn (apple raspberry) wine....it gave it a nice flavor....hope it is as good without the Apple Barn wine!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llglass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Juicy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
very good, served w/ rice and roasted brussel sprouts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is definitely a 5-star dish with some modifications and is one of the best new chicken recipes I have tried in a long time. I made a half recipe and only used 1/4 cup brown sugar which was just right. First, I sauteed 6 or 7 mushrooms and a small sliced onion with the minced garlic in 1 T. olive oil + 1/2 T. butter, then removed to a bowl, sauteed the chicken (not quite to fully cooked), and then simmered all together in the sauce (used 3/4 c. red wine + 1 c. chicken broth---in a half recipe) thickened with 1 T. cornstarch. By reducing the brown sugar, adding mushrooms and onions, and making extra, thickened sauce this recipe is a winner. I also added pepper and parsley. The chicken has lots of flavor and is very moist & tender. Definitely plan on serving this with noodles or mashed potatoes to accompany all the flavorful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was delish! However I altered the serving size to 4, and there was very little sauce. Next time I may follow the original recipe. Even though I don't cook as much chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was fantastic! By far it was the favorite dish at dinner. The chicken was tender, the sauce was excellent, and it was very easy to make. (It took me longer because I started with a 5lb fryer chicken and removed the skin and bones to ensure that it would cook evenly.) Definitely cut back on the sugar. 1/4 c is plenty, I might even scale back a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I give this 4 stars as written. It is very good, but needs some additions. Less brown sugar as others suggested. I added onions, but believe mushrooms would be a great addition as well. Also, crushed red pepper pods to add some spice. I also used some cornstarch mixed in water to thicken the sauce. Salt & pepper a must. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is a super starter recipe! The only thing I did differently was I used bacon grease (because that's what I usually use) and I had a whole cut up chicken instead of boneless breasts and added a small sliced onion. I also only used 1/4 cup brown sugar. I used all the paprika called for and actually closer to 1 1/2 cups wine and let it simmer for close to a hour for the whole pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My family loved it! Cut the paprika to make it more mild. Still went with all the wine and sugar and added some chicken broth for more sauce. I dredged my chicken in flour salt and pepper before sauteing in the pan, this helps make the sauce thicker. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnsthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
As others suggested I altered the recipe; only using 1/2 of the brown sugar and wine as called for and doubling the garlic. I think I slightly overcooked the sauce but it still went over wonderful! Everyone liked it, including the kids. I served it with steamed white rice and broccoli and it fit wonderfully. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States