Chicken and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I used this recipe with chicken thighs. I braised them in the sauce and it came out fantastic. Also, I advise adding a little chicken stock (not broth!) to the sauce. The gelatin in the stock thickens the sauce up, as well as, adds a really nice, rich flavor to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I'm fairly certain that wine, when cooked, loses it's alcoholic properties, right?? Well, somehow, This particular recipe magically retains that special something that is Purely addictive! As other have suggested, I halved the brown sugar & added sliced onions & mushrooms to the mix &....Oh My!!! We've rarely been the kind of family who eats til they're ready to explode but this meal? Simply could Not stop! Be Warned - you Will love this dish. Guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxessence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This recipe is good, but I only gave it three stars because I had to change so much. I only added the brown sugar to taste, starting with a teaspoon. I only got about four teaspoons in before I decided it was enough. I also cooked pancetta with the garlic, which gave it a nice bacony flavor. If I made it again, I would definitely use less oil and remove some of the oil after cooking the pancetta, but that was my fault, not the recipe's. The paprika and red wine combination was delicious. I served it with red wine risotto and green beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Also used less than a cup of sugar and wine, for only 3 lbs of chicken?! spiced chicken and cooked with garlic before adding the sugar and wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I used Black Cat wine to make this. The fruity taste from that and the garlic meshed together really well. This will definitely be added to me recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I too have made this dish, several times. Have made the following changes: I use 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup red wine AND use 3 whole carrots, peeled and med. slice on the bias and approx. 10 leaves of fresh sage. I add the carrots and sage with the wine and just let it simmer away. It makes for a wonderful winter's dish, serve over smashed garlic potatoes...with a nice crusty loaf of bread, the rest of the red wine at the table, or in front of the fireplace! YUM-OH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walela

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This chicken comes out perfectly delicious and tender every time! I've made this recipe three times so far, and it's a family favorite. I usually use more wine and it calls for, but that's really only because I don't measure...just pour. :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I wasn't thrilled with this. Way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I used splenda brown sugar (1/2 the amount) and it was delicious! Great healthy alternative, still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States