Chicken and Red Bell Pepper Salad Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I love this. I have been craving red bell peppers & I've always loved canned chicken instead of tuna. So I used canned chicken. This was fabulous, add bell peppers & heavy whipping cream to my regular sandwich :))))) awesome. Chili powder is good also, but the red bell peppers tops that. Im going to try it in a tortilla with some cabbage, going a bit along with another review only I dont have lettuce. Yaaay I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I actually used leftover shredded "mexican" chicken in this recipe and reduced fat mayonnaise. I wanted a little more kick so I tossed in some chopped pickled jalapenos. I made a wrap out of this, filling it out a bit with shredded lettuce, halved cherry tomatoes and a little shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
good dont belnd too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was good, but needs some tweaking. I had grilled chicken in the freezer, so I used that. I microwaved the bell pepper and let it drain on a paper towel. Using my emersion blender I blended the mayo and pepper only. I didn’t add the cream because my mixture was already too thin. I then folded in the cubed chicken, adding sliced green onions for a little more color/flavor. This was good, but the mayonnaise/pepper mixture was just too thin. Next time I will try to blot out more of the moisture in the pepper before blending it with the mayonnaise. Using roasted red pepper from a jar would make this even easier and quicker. This has potential and I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Yum! This is really good. I did season the water that I boiled the chicken in with garlic powder, onion powder, and celery salt. I completely forgot about the heavy cream when I was making it so I left that out. I served this on croissants with lettuce, cucumber and tomatoes. Very good. Thanks for the recipe I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very interesting recipe, one I didn’t understand correctly until I started to prepare it. I should know better than to proceed on a recipe before reading it through! The idea of the red pepper really appealed to me (I took a shortcut and microwaved it) - but what threw me was when I (finally) noticed that the chicken was to be blended in the food processor along with the red pepper, mayo and cream. With all respect to the submitter, that did NOT appeal to me, although I understand that foods you grew up with you don’t necessarily think of as odd when others not familiar with it might. For me it was – I envisioned, basically, homemade baby food. So instead, I pureed the red pepper, mayonnaise and cream and it made an exquisitely beautiful sauce – but it was pretty blah tasting. I doctored it up with some garlic salt, a shot of Worcestershire sauce and some chopped green onion and not only was it an instant fix, it was wonderful. I mixed that sauce up with the chicken and I had the chunkiness and flavor I desired. I wanted something a little more interesting than just sandwiching it between two slices of white bread so I used it along with strips of bacon, fresh baby spinach and tortillas to make wraps – and they were AWESOME good! To complete the meal I served them with a hearty bowl of chicken minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
super easy. I biled the chicken with garlic powder and salt. I also used olive oil mayonnaise and placed them on mini croissants. I agree with other reviewers, it is better to "under process" the mix or it will become too much like a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Light, refreshing and tasty. I omitted the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Definately a 5 star recipe! I had 3 breasts to use up so I added a little extra mayo & cream(I actually used half & half). I added some red onion & celery because I'm trying to use up a bunch of odds & ends. Fantastic! I ate it along side a cucumber salad & I'm thinking cucumbers would be a good addition on this sammie too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Sometimes the simplest recipes turn out to be some of the best! I love chicken salad and I had two leftover herb grilled chicken breasts and a lonely red bell pepper that needed to be used up before grocery night. What a pleasant surprise this little recipe turned out to be! I cooked the bell pepper as instructed and put everything into the food processor along with the salt, pepper, as well as a bit of garlic and onion powders. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used half and half with light mayo (added a little more than called for). I let this chill for an hour before serving. This chicken salad was creamy and delicious. It was perfect on melba toast and next time I might try it in a wrap! Thanks for a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States