Chicken and Red Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I used the leftovers from a whole chicken for this one, and light red kidney beans. I think next time I'll go with pintos instead. I will make this again. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I boiled a whole chicken for this recipe then used some of that for this. You couldn't taste the beans very well, so I might add another half can or so next time. I didn't read the directions very carefully and added all the cheese to the chicken mixture. To speed this up, you could use tomato paste instead of boiling down the tomato sauce. Yum, yum! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I thought this was great! I used one cup of pepper jack and one cup of cheddar instead of two cups of pepper jack, and I also was not able to find corn tortillas in the size suggested, so I used flour tortillas. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica9983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was a nice variation from more traditional enchiladas. They were very flavorful and filling. They freeze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
As written, this recipe would have been quite bland for our tastes. I used mexican seasonings with this, a can of condensed bean and bacon soup and enchilada sauce rather than tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
These are excellent. My son picked these for his 9 year birthday dinner. I did use flour tortillas and added the sauce after baking awhile so they wouldn't get soggy. I didn't have roasted chicken, so I grilled up some chicken breast seasoned with garlic and white pepper. I also used low sodium chicken broth, Mexican chili beans, added some sharp cheddar cheese, and added both chipolte and green chile powder for kick. Next time I'm going to use tomatoes and green chiles for some of the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
this was really good! I added a couple cloves of garlic and ended up using spaghetti sauce for the tomato sauce, but it was delicious.....my 6 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was excellent. These were the best enchiladas I've ever made. The only thing I'd change would be to maybe add a little salt and pepper for flavor. I loved the sauce and made it again added a little parmesan cheese and served it to guests as a low fat tomato alfredo sauce. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
These were good. Everyone said they liked them. I would recommend using something other than kidney beans just for the way it looks. I did find it a bit more labor intensive than it first appeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States