Chicken and Red Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but would have been a little too bland for us without some tweaking. I used red beans and after tasting the mixture, it wasn't too flavorful. I added a healthy dose of cumin, some lime-infused salt, and a few shakes of taco seasoning. I used tomato paste instead of sauce, added 2 cloves of garlic, lots of chili powder, cumin, and black pepper. Turned out very well. I cut the recipe down to 4 servings and still got 10 enchiladas that were stuffed to the max. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was really good and even my picky kids loved it. I think next time I would increase the amount of chicken and slightly reduce the amount of sauce as there was quite a bit left over...other than that, this was a great way to use up leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe! I could not find the corn tortillas in the larger size & the package I bought only had 10 in it so I was able to make due with th e 10. They were stuffed full & the with extra meat I just filled in between the rolled tortillas. I took the advice another reviewer & used the tomato paste instead of sauce but I thought it was too thick so I found a can of enchilada sauce & used 1/2 of the can to loosed it up a bit. I garnished with cilantro & then had black olives,lettuce,sour cream, onions, salsa & pickled jalepenos on the table for the family to add what they wanted. I think it could've used some heat but since I wanted the whole famly to enjoy I opted for adding the heat at the table. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this recipe as is, except to add the whole rotisserie chicken (shredded) and I added a 4 oz. can of chopped hot green peppers. This is my favorite enchilada recipe now and I've tried a whole lot and some that are much more time-intensive than this. This is a winner. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA6
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This meal is great and I have cooked it many times now. The only change is instead of using tomato sauce and chicken broth, I just buy a can of premade enchilada sauce. Being in Florida, we have a lot of great Latino products at the grocery. It saves time, and the flavor is a bit bolder. I also mix some of the sauce in with the chicken, bean, and cheese mixture. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ambrose Rokitowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good but ended up being a bit more time consuming to prepare than I anticipated. Very tasty and actually low fat and nutritious (except for the cheese....yum!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Lovely! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
We love this recipe. We got really good reviews from this. We had friends over for this and they said it was great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micheal Miller

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I actually love this recipe but have made some personal changes. I love using rotiserrie chicken; saves so much time. I found El Paso Enchilada Sauce in a can at my local supermarket. I use flour tortillas because I have never tried corn; I am more used to using flour ones. Sargento's has a low-fat Mexican shredded cheese blend that works great with this dish. I use black beans and corn; they are delicioso!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula DiGiacomo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eliza
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This turned out to be very yummy. I used rotisserie chicken and the only thing I did differently is I used less onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States