Chicken and Red Bean Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This is an excellent recipe as it is, however we like our enchiladas a little more moist. I added 2 11oz cans of red enchilada sauce to the tomato/chicken broth mix and reduced by 1/2 in about 15 min. over med high heat. this makes more sauce for chicken/bean/cheese filling and the baking dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I tried it out on friends and it went over great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I thought these were really good!! I would probably skip the tomato sauce step and just use enchilada sauce like others...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Sauce needs seasoning (I added about 1 Tbsp chili powder and 2 tsp cumin, which was OK, but still not really flavorful). Used black beans, as well as extra cheese. Didn't add raw onion (dislike) or cilantro (didn't have) to the finished product and didn't miss them. A nice hearty family meal. Served with sour cream and hot sauce (for those of us who wanted to kick it up a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CATATWORK
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Super delicious & easy! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These were a hit at our house! I added spices to the tomato mixture as per previous suggestions (Cumin, Chili powder, salt, pepper), as well as added corn which was a great addition! Without the corn, I think it would have been too plain. I also used Monterey cheese and cheddar in the enchiladas, and provolone on the top before baking. Great recipe, thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whatismommamakintonight
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Instead of making the sauce, I mixed a 1/2 can of enchilada sauce with 1 can Rotella (green chiles and tomatoes drained) and heated it up. The I mixed with black beans, chicken and cheddar cheese. Also sprinkled with tomato sauce and cheddar and mozarella on top. Delicious! Made with Mexican Rice as a side, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Although I made a few changes to fit my taste buds, this recipe is delicious. I skipped the bean; replaced the tomato sauce with one large can of Red enchilada sauce and the chicken broth with half a can of the green enchilada sauce. I added the other half of the green enchilada sauce to the filling. I made flavored rice (chicken bouillon and a few scoops of the red sauce) and poured it on the bottom of the baking dish and placed the enchiladas and sauce on top. My husband said that these were the best enchiladas he has ever had. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Outstanding - I will now always buy a second rotisserie chicken so we can make this dish. I used black beans b/c I had them on hand, and prefer them to red, and used flour tortillas for same reason - these were the best enchiladas I've ever made. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was really good - a keeper that I'll make again. I did use a rotisserie chicken and that was the perfect amount. I used a can of mild enchilada sauce and added some chicken broth to that as well as chopping up a couple chipotle chiles in adobo sauce and adding to the sauce and onions. Using a 9x13 pan, I got 10 enchiladas. If you use a larger lasagna pan, you could get 12. I also combined the pepper jack cheese and co-jack for a little more flavor. To top it off, I used chopped cilantro and chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States