Chicken and Pumpkin Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Marginal at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Just made this dish for my family and they loved it. I took the advice from previous comments. I added garlic, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of brown sugar, and I substituted one of the diced tomatoes for a can of green chilies and diced tomatoes for a bit more kick. No added water was needed. I roasted my pumpkin whole in the oven for 45 minutes to an hour. It was much easier to cut in half, take out the seeds, and scoop out the meat of the pumpkin. Since I didn't have much time I cooked this recipe on the stove. It was done in 30 minutes. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was a delicious meal. My entire family enjoyed. This recipe was outside the box for us...I've never prepared a pumpkin dish, and so I was skeptical. My 16, 14 and 8 year olds had seconds, not to mention hubby. I did things a little differently: I put the boneless dark meat in the crock for about 3 hours before I added the rest b/c a friend was bringing me the tomatoes and pumpkin and hadn't arrived yet. Then I followed others suggestions and added a little less cinnamon and some garlic powder. Also, I didn't have coriander and I halved to olive oil. I chopped approx. 5 roma tomatoes since I didn't have canned and we live where some sort of green pumpkin/squash (calabasa) is sold in chunks, so I used that instead of orange pumpkin. The mixture wasn't really soupy, so no need for the cornstarch addition. I just spooned the mixture into bowls and served with bread on the side. I would say this recipe could be thrown in the crock in any way, and it wouldn't matter...it would still be delicious in the end. This is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Bredben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great dish but prep time is WAY more than 30 minutes. Maybe I didn't have a sharp enough knife, but chopping up a pumpkin and squash is much harder than it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
My ended up very bland and not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My husband and I liked this recipe. I made it per the instructions and put it over quinoa instead of noodles or rice. I will put it over that again in the future. We felt it was missing flavor and that the cinnamon was over powering. I'm not sure what to add, but I will add something in the future and I will reduce the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp or 3/4 tsp. Great use of pumkin and a different spin on goulash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was delicious! I loaded up on tons of extra fresh ginger and simmered it on "low" all day (8 hours). This caused some of the pumpkin to break down and the ginger flavor to be strong but not spicy. I served this for guests and it was a smashing success. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I subbed beef (stew cuts) for chicken, added (2) small, chopped green peppers, fresh basil, fresh bay leaves, fresh sage and doubled the quantity of all herbs and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was very good. I did it in the slow cooker and served it over couscous and it was hearty, healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was AWESOME! The only exception I made was instead of using pumpkin, I used sweet potatoes. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T and it was so declicious. My whole family loved it! A very fall kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lackawaxen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States