Chicken and Portobello Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was amazing!! The flavors BURST in your mouth! However, I did make a few alterations just because I honestly can't help it. Here are my alterations: 1.Cut the recipe in 1/2 to serve 2 people, 2. When sauteing the red pepper, asparagus & garlic, add garlic last. Minced garlic doesn't take long to cook & you def. don't want it to burn or it will ruin the dish, 3. Used button mushrooms (thats all i had on hand-worked out fine) 4. Sauted veggies in EVOO & a little butter, 5. After flatening the chicken breast, I seasoned the outside with onion powder, poultry seasoning, & black pepper & little seasoned salt, then rolled up and returned to same pan I cooked veggies in to brown both sides of chicken (also added about little EVOO to pan before putting chicken in), 6. For the sauce on top-I deglazed the pan by adding about 1/4 cup chicken broth to pan & scraping all that good yummy stuff at the bottom, let reduce for about 1 minute, then added the entire can of cream of mushroom soup. I skipped the milk & added about 3 tblpns 1/2 & 1/2. Also seasonsed the sauce w/about 1 tspn poultry seasoning & onion poweder, dash black pepper & little garlic salt. SO GOOD!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
this was very good, however i tweaked some of the steps/ingredients. i also added some worcestire and a little bit of fresh grated Parmesan cheese to the mushroom sauce. also be careful which kind of mushroom soup you use. i didn't even need to use milk. the kind of creamy mush soup i got was the perfect consistancy. i would recommend not adding the portabellos in at the same time as the peppers/asparagus, they cook quicker, wait a little bit. i also sprinkled some olive oil on the chicken before putting it in oven. i too, served it over rice. my boyfriend's a chef and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Impressive and easy dish. We will make this for company, but will substitute cheese for the mushroom soup to add a touch of elegance. Excellent blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I added feta cheese to the rollup and it was delicious! I also added some worchestershire sauce, as per the reviewers' advice. Adding worchestershire sauce mellows out the saltiness of the mushroom sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is a recipe with great potential. I did use pepper (and the salt) on the chicken as well as in the sauce. We did like this recipe a lot, as we love asparagus and mushrooms. I served it over white rice. But , the next that I make it I will brown the chicken in a little olive oil and add some worcestshire or other spices to the sauce for a little more flavor. Otherwise, a great recipe. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manchester, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Pickens, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These were awesome! I sauteed the asparagus with 1 Tblsp minced garlic. Instead of 1 cup of milk in the sauce I added 3/4, and I also added a couple splashes of Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Wife and family loved it. Some differences to the original recipe: *Added chopped onions *Added more garlic. Added some late to the saute as well as raw to the wrap. *Browned chicken wraps in same pan veggies were cooked. *In the same pan sauteed (what ever fell out of the chicken wrap) onions, mushrooms, garlic then added cream of mushroom. Season with salt and pepper. Served over brown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
What I did different: I put about 3-4 tablespoons of garlic instead of what it called for. I put Season All on the chicken, in the veggies while sauteeing, and in the cream of mushroom sauce. I used an orange pepper and a red pepper. I added Feta Cheese when I stuffed the chicken. I put Season All, about a tablespoon of garlic, and a teaspoon of Kitchen Bouquet in the cream of mushroom sauce. I couldn't ask for a better recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The vegetables had a great flavor. The chicken was very, very bland. We did not add the milk to the cream of mushroom soup, as it would have been WAY too watery. I would make this again, but I would marinade the chicken breasts first. The mushroom soup does not add enough flavor to compensate for unseasoned chicken. I think this recipe would be 4 or 5 stars if it was re-engineered a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARON1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This recipe has great potential. The filling was wonderful, but despite trying to doctor up the cream of mushroom soup, it was what it was. I will make this again, but look for a more creative sauce. I think browning the chicken in a skillet before baking might also help. I look forward to reading other reviewers suggestions.Very easy, very quick, very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States