Chicken and Pasta in a Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
A good experiment Shaggy! I made this for dinner tonight and it was mmmmmm...good! I will only make a couple of changes next time...instead of rigatoni, I will use linguini or fettuccini, and not mix it all together, but serve the sauce on top of the pasta. The chicken is only okay for me, but Im not a big meat eater and I think this would be just as good without it. I guess I will be doing some experimenting of my own! Lovely dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Interesting idea and a great result - nice and light - I added some milk and herbs too to save on the cream. Surprisingly tasty! Definately to be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Wonderful combination of flavors! Next time, I'll try doubling the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
The end result of this recipe was delicious. I had some preparation problems with not having a pot large enough to hold all of the ingredients together for the tossing, so I ended up dividing it in half, and tossing it in the pan I cooked the chicken in and the other half in the pot I cooked the noodles in. I might use penne pasta next time, though I liked the change in using rotini. Instead of heavy cream, I used 3/4 cup of lactaid skim milk and 1/4 cup margarine. The sauce isn't as thick that way, but it cuts down on the fat and is lactose-free :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
ok, but seemed to be missing something... We added extra cream and cheese and lots of salt and pepper. I think I would like it better with red bell pepper. Maybe I'll make it again, I'm still undecied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Very good blend of flavors. My mango was not still a bit raw, so I would expect it to taste even better with a proper ripe one. I used skim milk to cut down on fat and thickend the sauce with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Only one out of five liked this recipe. It did not look appetizing and had was bland. I had to add cayenne pepper to it to liven it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Very nice dish. It came out a little on the dry side so I added a little extra heavy cream. Good combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was a great mix of flavors! I added a touch of white wine to the sauce the second time I made this. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
We really liked this dish! I only felt that the 8 oz of pasta was a little too much; I think next time I will use close to 6 oz to maximize the creaminess. Also, for people who may have felt it didn't have enough flavor, try using a little extra ginger, a little cayenne pepper, some cilantro, and a squeeze of lime juice. Adds a little more Thai / Latin American influence. Hearty and reheats really well; we'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States