Chicken and Pasta in a Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
We marinated the chicken for an hour in 1 tsp of adobo paste and Newmans balsamic vinagrette dressing. Next we grilled it for 5 or 6 minutes. Once cooked we diced the chicken and added it to the onion, pepper(red) & mango mixture already cooking in the skillet. Finally we left out the cream, added a bit more olive oil and some fresh ground pepper. Topped with the parmesan - it was fantastic! Also we substituted whole wheat whole grain penne for the pasta to complete our attempts at a healthy low calorie meal! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bljersey
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I love mango so that was my favorite part of this recipe. It was really delicious fresh, although just very slightly bland. The flavor didn't keep well for leftovers. Next time I would cut the onions differently as the ring shapes were a bit awkward both for cooking and eating. I suggest adding a little more pepper, maybe an additional yellow bell pepper. But overall it was not bad. I would make it again with a few small adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
My husband and I love this dish! It is so pretty to serve with the splash of color. I can't wait until my next dinner party so I can wow my guests with Chicken and Mango!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Awesome! Made this for Mother's Day dinner w/my parents and in-laws. My husband and I and all of the parents loved it. I doubled the recipe, used a yellow and a red bell pepper, less onion, less garlic, and a tiny bit less cream. Added the juice of about a third of a lime. My husband is already asking for me to make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe had an odd mixture of ingredients but worked out really well. I especially enjoyed the mango it it. The only change I made was to use half and half instead of heavy cream to make it a little healthier. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My husband and I thought this was great. Being gluten intolerable, I left out the pasta and just ate the chicken in the mango sauce. I found the dish to have just the right measure of sweetness and hearty enough to eat without the pasta. This is also a great way to make the dish if you are trying to cut back on carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
You know... I'm generally not all that hard to please, but I'm with Ewa on this one. I was really excited to make it because I love all of the flavors that go into it, but was less than satisfied with it when I was done. First, the portions were huge - I scaled it to two servings and made it for myself, intending to have half tonight and half tomorrow, and I could never finish all that by myself in two meals even if I loved it. Second, I don't know what the photographer did differently to create what is depicted in the photo - I followed the recipe to a T - but mine didn't look anything like that. It looked mushy and had an almost uniform icky color throughout. Thirdly (and most importantly), I didn't like it! It wasn't so bad that I couldn't eat it - given that I was hungry and didn't have time to make a new dinner, I didn't have much choice - but I didn't enjoy it at all and am considering throwing out tomorrow's portion. I hate to waste the money, but I have no desire to go near that dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
awesome idea! i changed green into red pepper and added a little paprika and cayenne pepper. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Very good flavors, a little bland next time I will add about 1/2-1 tsp of salt to the chicken as it is cooking. My daughter thought it would taste really good with grilled chicken and portabella mushrooms instead of the mango for a different taste. We will definately make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was delicious! The flavor was subtle and amazing, and a combination of all of my favorite things...mangoes, cheese, and pasta, and they worked really well together. I'll be making this one again for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States