Chicken and Pasta in a Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I didn't have any ginger - so no ginger was used - I used 1/2 skim milk and 1/2 heavy cream. I added more salt and pepper and some paprika - but otherwise - very yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANNANB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Served this with "Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette" (also from this site) to have a Caribbean themed dinner. This was delightfully different and tasty! Having read the other reviews I used skim milk, a tablespoon of flour, and extra cheese instead of cream. I also added more ginger, lime juice from about half a lime, cayenne pepper, and fresh chopped cilantro at the end. Although all the additions helped add depth to the flavor of this sauce, I think the cayenne was the most necessary. It gave it a background of heat that complimented the ginger taste really well and worked with the sweet mango. I can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Excellent dish. More of a 4 1/2 stars. I did add and extra chicken breast and some extra mango. I bought a fresh mango and jarred and used both. My fresh wasn't as ripe as i would have liked it to be and the jarred was a little mushy. I guess the key is buy fresh and simply wait it out until it ripens. I did need to triple the parmesan cheese and add a little more salt after tasting. I also added so cilantro (just a pinch) as well as paprika to the cooking chicken. Its safe to say this will be added to dishes we really like and will make again at some point in the future. I served with a nice spinach salad and garlic bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
when i first tasted as is I thought it was very bland. I added quite a bit of red pepper for a kick and more parmesan and THEN it tasted great! I would recommend even using 2 mango's if your really wanting the sweetness to come out more...b/c I hardly got it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzibear
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was soooo so good! I love it and will make it again. I followed the recipe and didn't change a thing except for adding more chicken and pasta. The sauce still coated everything perfectly instead of having a sauce drizzling over the food. I love it and have sent the recipe to EVERYONE I know :) Thank you for posting this delicious creation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
So yummy! Added cayenne pepper as suggested by a number of viewers and I think that's what made it so yummy- a little sweet from the mango and a little spicy from the cayenne. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
The ingredients sound a bit strange together but what a dish! Really great! For those of you who can't get fresh mangos year round, I used teh refrigerated canned mango you find in the produce section (I think it is Del Monte)and just washed off the light syrup and it was good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Sorry but I thought this was fairly bland, even after I spiced it up with cardamom and jalepeno and used coconut milk instead of cream. Maybe I've destroyed my taste buds with too many spicy curries lately! Thanks for the recipe though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Excellent! A perfect blend of light and tasty. My family loves this. I did add a red pepper and doubled the fresh ginger. I cut the onion and peppers into chunks to make it easier to eat. This is a treat. Easy to make and delicious to eat. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Wonderful! Tasted great and looked pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States