Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Kind of bland. Nothing special. Wasn't worth the effort and time it took to pick the meat from the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is a wonderful comfort food! I made it as written except I had only canned chicken so instead of adding the water, I dumped the chicken and broth in. I used half the amount of oregano because oregano can really overpower the delicate chicken flavors. I added 1 celery stalk, chopped finely. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Unless you LOVE oregano cut it way down -I thought the oregano was overpowering! Will give the recipe another try using less oregano and will resubmit my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great comfort food. I make some minor adjustments. I substitute the water with more chicken broth and only use 1 teaspoons of oregano. I also throw in whatever I have handy: garlic powder, onion powder, poultry seasoning, parsely flakes, etc. And since the chicken is already cooked, I don't put it in until the very end. Awesome on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was very bland. Not crazy about the oregano. I doctored it up, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe turned out sort of bland and doesn't have enough colour. Needs stuff added to it, but I wasn't sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a pretty average tasting soup. I needed about double the chicken broth even though I cooked the soup covered. After adding 1 tsp. oregano, I tasted the soup and felt that was plenty of oregano...maybe too much. I added a little basil, rosemary, and parsley to get a better blend of flavors, but never got it exactly right. I altered the preparation directions: after adding the flour to the vegetables, I stirred in 2 T. Sherry and the 1 c. milk, stirred until the mixture was thick and bubbly, then added it to the broth/rice mixture. I added the cooked chicken near the end to avoid overcooking...there is no need to add it in step 1 before the rice even cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
The is a nice and easy meal, although I found it rather bland. I added a red pepper, celery, a splash of white wine, more salt and pepper and a little seasoning blend, and it still was missing something--maybe Cayenne? My husband liked it though and he usually goes for big flavor, and it definitely looked yummy to serve, so I gave it four stars instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this w/leftover turkey, barley and added a few stalks of celery. Omitted rice, water, and used 1/2 the amt of oregano. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Barneveld, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was really good. I didn't give it a five because it wasn't to die for, and needed some extra spice to it. I doubled the amount of rice, and used less dried oregano as suggested. Next time I will omit the carrots, and add some corn. With the remaining leftovers, i warmed it up with a can of chicken broth and made chicken mushroom chowder soup. Very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States