Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
The first time I made this chowder I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I made it, I made some changes which I think really improved the final results. I eliminated the water. I didn't see the need for it. I also eliminated the oregano. I think that was my biggest complaint with the recipe as is - for me the taste was overpowering. To add some flavor, I added chicken bullion, white pepper, parsley and onion powder. Lastly, I waited until the final step to add the chicken. Made as is – the chicken cooks too long – the end result is dried out or rubbery chicken. A tip for new cooks: Before transferring the flour/vegetable mix to the rice mixture stir about ¼ to ½ cup of chicken broth into the flour/veg mixture. This helps to eliminate lumps in your final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this last night and my hubby & I loved it! I used 2 cans of broth and brown rice, left out the water, added butter to the olive oil when cooking the veggies (used portobellas and put in extra because I love them)and then deglazed the pan with a little red wine and added that to the pot. I also used half & half and another 2/3 cup of 1% milk plus a little nutmeg at the end. I did add salt & pepper to taste as I was cooking. I almost always add more spices to any recipe I make but I think the recipe as it stands is a great one. I will definatley make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I absolutely love this recipe. I've made it several times and always get rave reviews. It's definitely great comfort food. If I want to thicken it up, I add a can of Cream of Mushroom and it's wonderful. I find it easiest to put a couple chicken breasts in a slow cook all day with salt, pepper, and garlic salt. When I come home, I shred up the chicken (it's like butter by then) and use it for my soup. If I have too much chickent left over, I use it the next for soft chicken tacos or a BBQ chicken sandwich. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I made this as is yesterday for the first time. I loved it. It was nice, thick, and hearty. My wife wants me to add green vegetables the next time I make it, but she took the leftovers to work today so she must have loved it too. To anyone I suggest following the recipe for your first batch, then tweek it if you want, but the original recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This was delicious- like a chicken stew. Seemed really thin at first but then the rice puffed up and the whole thing thickened. Added some leftover peas- could add anything you like! Might try some different/more seasoning next time. And there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My husband and I thought this was too bland also. I will try one more time with this recipe before tossing. Would add more pepper and a bouillion cube and 3/4 cup of frozen peas with the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
I WASN'T EVEN LOOKING FOR THIS, BUT I COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT TO HAVE FOR DINNER AND I MADE THIS IN UNDER AN HOUR. IT WAS FABULOUS!! IT HAS TO BE EASY FOR ME NOT TO MESS IT UP!!! A NEW FAVORITE OF MINE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I actually would give this 4 1/2 stars but since they don't have that option I will go with 4. My husband loved this recipe I made mine a bit larger by adding more broth and rice and since I had a can of evaporated milk on hand that was opened I used that instead of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made it with leftover Thanksgiving turkey instead of chicken, and I could not stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Made this recipe tonight for supper, it was wonderful, changed nothing.... will make many times again... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States