Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
I WASN'T EVEN LOOKING FOR THIS, BUT I COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT TO HAVE FOR DINNER AND I MADE THIS IN UNDER AN HOUR. IT WAS FABULOUS!! IT HAS TO BE EASY FOR ME NOT TO MESS IT UP!!! A NEW FAVORITE OF MINE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Lots of chopping to get all the veggies right, but good filling chow food. And lots of room for your personal taste - i'm gonna try it with beef and/or pasta and/or sour cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I thought this was bland and had to really add spices to get adequate taste. Not sure I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This was an excellent chowder!!! I used fresh portabella mushrooms and a bit more garlic.. YUMMY!! An instant favorite in this house!!! I would use less rice just because it soaks up the yummy broth! KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
My husband and I loved this recipe! The only thing I need to change in my own preparation is that I need to add a bit more salt... I used homemade chicken browth, and I'm sure that canned browth has plenty of salt already. My husband can be hard to please, and this one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! Preparation of the vegetables does take a little time, but a food processor helps with that. I used prepared broth (Campbells), so I don't need to add any additional salt. While I prepare the veggies, I cook the chicken breasts in the microwave, and cook the small amount of rice on the stove. By the time they're ready, I'm finished with the veggies - all in all, it was ready to eat in under an hour. I think next time I'll try it with Portabello mushrooms and a whole head of roasted garlic. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
The whole family really likes this chowder. It all disappeared (no leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
My family loved this. Thick and filling. The oregano is a bit strong though. Next time I'll omit that, add more salt and DOUBLE THE RECIPE, as we all wanted MORE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Very good chowder! Other than adding an additional cup of milk to get the soup to our preferred consistency, I didn't change a thing and we really enjoyed the results. The soup is very easy and I would make this again! Thanks Joanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Both my husband and I really liked this recipe. I did make some changes: turkey instead of chicken, 3 1/2 cups of chicken broth instead of 3, a half bag of frozen veggies, and added a can of campbell's chedder cheese soup. This tasted like a homemade pot pie without the crust, but could used as the filling for a pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States