Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good - delicious comfort food. I doubled everything but the chicken. I only added the chicken at the point where the (soy) milk is added, any earlier would would have really dried it out. I also added 10 oz. of broccoli at that point, to make this a one pot dish. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
In my hazy sick state I added double the oregano, WOW way to powerful. But I fixed it by adding cream of celery soup and another cup of milk. My husband was shocked at how good my mistake turned out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
My husband loved this and the kids enjoyed it as well. I added butter to my olive oil and added extra garlic. Next time I will increase the amount of broth, rice and milk to make it more "soupier". The fresh mushrooms really enhance the flavor. Use a full container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was pretty awesome. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, using skim milk and maybe a little extra pepper. Turned out great! My honey claims to hate oregano and he loved this. Yes, it is pretty simple, but that's what comfort food should be. It was great, but not 5-stars - it could definitely use something extra to give it that boost, but I haven't figured out what that "extra" should be yet. Great recipe, though - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I really wanted this to be as good as I was imagining. However, It WAS very bland and needed quite a bit of jazzing up -- and we have very mild taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
My husband loved it, my boys and I thought it was pretty good. I will make it again definately, but will use skim milk rather than cream now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I Love this! Wonderful! I would think wild rice works better. But I still like it with white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Very good. I omitted the carrots because I do not like them and used celery instead. I also used wild rice instead of white and brown rice flour instead of white. I had to add about 2 more cups of water but it was very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very good! I had to add about an extra cup of liquid, and I still thought it was pretty thick. Good, but I was just expecting something a little more soup-like. I don't know why, the title clearly says "chowder"! Anyway, it was delicious and I'll certainly make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Excellent chowder!!! I made this a few days ago after a big snowstorm. Perfect comfort food for the winter. I served it with garlic bread and a mixed green salad with herb vinegrette. My friends are already asking for the recipe. haha!!! Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States