Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I think we would have given this 2.5 stars, but since it was SO bland, we rounded down. We took the advice of some of the others and didn't add any water (why would you?) and added some butter with the oil. Add four good-sized ribs of celery to the carrots and onions and 1.5 teaspoons each of thyme and sage. Add more salt/pepper to taste. Using cream of chicken (or mushroom) may be better than using milk - we'll know next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Loved it. I made it for a luncheon and it got rave reviews. Everyone wanted the recipe. I made it with gluten free flour and rice milk to make it gluten free and dairy free. Couldn't tell the difference. I added a pinch of cayenne and some porcini salt. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Bartlett

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is a good soup, but needs a bit of spicing up as it is a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
A great dish that can be seasoned many ways to your taste. It's great if you have left over chicken and rice which I did,much quicker to make.I also sauted celery with the onions,carrots,garlic and mushrooms.Did extra mushrooms,we love them.Did not use the water. My husband and I love curry ,it was great.Next time I think i will try cumin.Thanks for a great recipe that can be seasoned many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountain mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made this as recipe states only leaving out oregano, this was awsome! My whole family loved it, a great comfort food on a cold winter day! I will make again for sure, thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was ok...very bland, had to add a lot of salt and the rice did not cook all the way. May try again and add my own twist on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Very good. I substituted heavy cream for the milk. I really liked the result, it was thick and creamy. I made it for a group of Veterans, many came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this recently and it is a keeper, I did add corn as suggested in previous reviews and the 1/2 water was changed to chicken broth also, though I think more chicken broth is needed for this to be a chowder because as left overs it is no longer a chowder and more like a casserole. Next time I will add more chicken broth and I think I will make it with wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I prepared this recipe as written and it ended up pasty and bland. I added parsley, garlic salt, white pepper, at least double the original black pepper, frozen corn and a significant amount of extra milk (hoping to help out with the pastiness). With all of the extra seasonings I added it was still quite bland. As a starter I may use this again, but as a finished chowder I will not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Good recipe. I thickened with cornstarch added to the milk at the end. Also added chicken just before thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States