Chicken and Mushroom Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wendy Sanders
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Absolutely wonderful! All I did differently was add a little more salt and a touch of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a good recipe, and it's great to have a chicken soup that is a little different. We enjoyed it, but I think it could stand a good couple of tablespoons of parsley while it's cooking. I did add some at the end, just before serving. It also needs salt. I had to add about another 1/2 cup of stock at the end, because it was just a little too thick, even for chowder consistency. Also, I covered the pot while it was cooking for the 30 minutes, as I think it's best to cook any soup while it cooks so that the liquid doesn't simmer away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Followed the directions almost exactly, but switching the water with more chicken broth. Found the flavor to be very bland. The consistency is more like curry that's been mixed with rice than an actual chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Kind of bland. Nothing special. Wasn't worth the effort and time it took to pick the meat from the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is a wonderful comfort food! I made it as written except I had only canned chicken so instead of adding the water, I dumped the chicken and broth in. I used half the amount of oregano because oregano can really overpower the delicate chicken flavors. I added 1 celery stalk, chopped finely. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Unless you LOVE oregano cut it way down -I thought the oregano was overpowering! Will give the recipe another try using less oregano and will resubmit my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great comfort food. I make some minor adjustments. I substitute the water with more chicken broth and only use 1 teaspoons of oregano. I also throw in whatever I have handy: garlic powder, onion powder, poultry seasoning, parsely flakes, etc. And since the chicken is already cooked, I don't put it in until the very end. Awesome on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was very bland. Not crazy about the oregano. I doctored it up, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe turned out sort of bland and doesn't have enough colour. Needs stuff added to it, but I wasn't sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a pretty average tasting soup. I needed about double the chicken broth even though I cooked the soup covered. After adding 1 tsp. oregano, I tasted the soup and felt that was plenty of oregano...maybe too much. I added a little basil, rosemary, and parsley to get a better blend of flavors, but never got it exactly right. I altered the preparation directions: after adding the flour to the vegetables, I stirred in 2 T. Sherry and the 1 c. milk, stirred until the mixture was thick and bubbly, then added it to the broth/rice mixture. I added the cooked chicken near the end to avoid overcooking...there is no need to add it in step 1 before the rice even cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States