Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
These are the first chimichangas that I have enjoyed. The flavor is wonderful and easy to prepare. Do make double the recipe! Chef John, very good, as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
All I need to tell my husband when he asks what's for dinner is "It's a Chef John recipe". He doesn't even ask anymore he just knows whatever it is, it will be fantastic. This is another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I did not care for this recipe the first time I made it, I think I added too many mushrooms. Since then I have made it several times, and it has become a family favorite. I double the recipe and get 8 chimichangas and freeze any leftovers, they make a nice grab and go meal when in a hurry. The only change I made to the recipe is I smother the top of the chimi's with green chili sauce. Be sure to brush the tortilla's with the egg white's as this really holds the chimi's together nicely. I really like the browning step before baking, as this helps to achieve that nice crispy golden exterior. These are delicious, and definitely worth the effort. They also get easier to make each time you make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Amazing! I left out the ground chipotle, but followed the recipe exactly other than that. I only ended up with three chimichangas - maybe I used extra large tortillas or just put too much stuffing in. Delicious and filling either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I loved this recipe & video by Chef John. The only changes I made were to use Green Peppers instead of Poblano and using Sargento Cheddar Jack Shredded Cheese (Unfortunately, my stomach can't handle spicy foods).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I do Love you recipes Chef John, thank you so much for sharing them with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Great recipe! I love you Chef John! I wish you'd make a full length movie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Hancock
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
These chimichangas are fantastic! They taste as good or better than restaurant ones without the deep frying. My husband loved them and wants me to make them regularly. Make sure you brush the tortillas with egg white or they'll come apart. I served them with Chef John's Spicy Spanish style rice which was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Made these last night - excellent! And surprisingly easy to do! The only thing I did differently was to cook my chicken ahead of time - shredded it and then added to the cooked veggies. Also I could not find Mexican oregano so used regular and it was fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States