Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Wow! I've been trying new recipes with lentels and this one is now my favorite! I put the spices in before the stock to release their flavors. Next time, I might omit the tomato sauce (taste tested and it was great before the sauce, also). Wonderful both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
My family loves lentils and I was looking for a different way to prepare them. I had a some chicken so I searched for a recipe and this one came up. I used boneless skinless breasts and added a little cumin and Mrs. Dash and it was more than wonderful!! Great for a chilly day. My 17 year old son can hardly wait till I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I had never had lentils before but I really loved this. My husband and one year old son loved it also. I added a little fresh grated motzarella cheese on top. I also cooked it all my croc pot on low heat for about 6 hours - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
The house still smells good from this one. Wonderful blend of flavors. And without the oil, this is a filling yet low-calorie dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This recipe was great... I will certainly be making this one again - incredible! I had people flocking to my apartment, asking what the smell was... This recipe was quite filling, very satisfying... I used red lentils; they soften much quicker than brown, and gave the dish a saucy consistency (I served over spaghetti). I also used salsa rather than tomato sauce. I really enjoy spicy food, so this gave it an extra little kick. Thank you to the person who made that suggestion! Very much appreciated! A tiny bit of grated ginger also tastes great! For vegetarians out there, tofu substitues well for the chicken. I would recommend cubing, and sauteing in some oil for about 2 mins (extra firm tofu) Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This is very good and very different! I really liked it, and my two year old said "Mommy I yike this" (surprisingly, because of the lentils and veggies)! I also added a red bell pepper, because I had it and it was about to go bad. I rarely cook with bone-in chicken with skin, or with dark meat, but it was really good. I used a package of chicken thighs. VERY inexpensive, nice change! Next time I would remove the skin, we picked it out anyway. I would recommend this, but make sure you don't overdo the rosemary (I almost did). It can get that "perfumy" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Delicious and very satisfying, especially on a chilly evening. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and it matched well with the lentils. The chicken came out very tender. I had to add about an extra cup of water as the lentils cooked. I actually thought that the flavor was delicious before adding the tomato sauce, so I might try omitting it next time for a change. Definitely use fresh rosemary if you have it on hand, and don't skip the lemon juice -- it really brings the flavors together at the end. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Suprisingly delicious-not a big lentil fan but I may change my mind!- my 11 month old couldn't eat it fast enough. As far as my other children were concerned-also not big lentil fans and not as daring as mom was to try them- the chicken was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
YUMMY!! I will definitely make this again and again. Like other reviewers, I soaked the lentils for an hour and doubled the lentil cooking time. I also left the salt until last since salt prevents the softening of pulses. I used a jar of olive tomato sauce and I served it over macaroni. It was absolutely wonderful, what a great lentil recipe, thanks! (By the way, if you're using red lentils, you can probably stick with the cooking times. Brown lentils take the longest to soften.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Recipe was great! I couldn't believe how flavorful it was. I would recommend soaking the lentils for a few hours before cooking them or cooking them for double the recommended time. I will definitely be adding this recipe to my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States