Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is my new favorite recipe! I omitted the tomato sauce because as I tasted the lentils at the end, it already tasted great. I also omitted the rosemary because I don't care for it. There was plenty of flavor! For my starch, I added 1 can of whole potatoes (cubed) about 5 minutes before the end. Makes a great one-dish meal! I used boneless chicken tenderloins but I think it would work well for any chicken cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
The flavor of this recipe was pretty good, but i think that the tomato sauce wasnt really necessary. I tasted the mixture before the tomato sauce was added, and it was delicious as-is. Also, i had to cook my lentils for over an hour, so if i do make this one again, i will be soaking the lentils first and i will definitely omit the tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This recipe was AWESOME. The texture and flavor reminded me of the fried taco filling my grandma makes. Very good left over!!! I added more chicken broth instead of water when the lentils became dry. I omitted the rosemary because I didn't have any, but added cumin. This is a repeat recipe! Try it out! You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! I didn't soak the lentils, but I did use 1 tsp of fresh rosemary and fresh basil and added it while the lentils were cooking with the broth, I also used a jar of marinara sauce in place of the plain tomato sauce, I am not a lemon person so I omitted it but dh asked me to add it next time and also to try some cumin or curry in it. Thanks for a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was soooo good!!! I didn't add the tomato sauce in at the end and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was our first time cooking with lentils. This was a really good recipe, I agree withothers comments to even make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Gardner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erin, New York, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Very yummy. I put it all in my crock pot and then scraped the chicken off the bones and stirred it together! Was a bit too salty so I don't think I will add any salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is an excellent base recipe. A person could do just about anything with it. I prefer not to add the rosemary. It is still very flavorful and has a comforting stew-like texture. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I used fresh basil and rosemary and cooked the chicken for a lot longer. Other than that, the cooking times were right on. For the lentils I used the generic lentils from the grocery store, so I didn't have any trouble with cooking them- I did not soak them either. Definitely add the lemon juice. I served this over whole wheat spiral pasta with parmesan cheese- Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I made it exactly as the recipe says, and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States