Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I used almost 3 cups of broth and skipped tomato sauce and lemon juice. It turned out to be a very comforting food. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was so good, I have never had much success with lentils in the past, but came upon this recipe looking for something I could make using lemons and rosemary from my garden. I made some changes using what I had at home: 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, chicken boullion instead of broth, no tomato sauce, fresh rosemary, doubled because I didn't use basil, added ~1/2 Tb. balsamic vinegar at the end with the lemon. This was great, I can't wait to eat leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
It was a little bland to me as I love spicy flavorful foods so I added extra spices of CUMIN and Trader Joe's Every Day Seasoning. Served this over white rice. Froze half of the recipe for lunches.Great go to quick meal any type of meat can be used...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is great served over brown rice or a can of hominy, heated up. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Pike

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We loved this recipe. Right down to my 3 year old son. I would add curry or some other Indian spices. Super easy to make and uses ingredients usually in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used cut-up chicken breasts and hot mexican-style tomato sauce, deleting the last three ingredients as I was out. Wow!!! What a great recipe.... and it's also very healthy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
One of the few lentil recipes that my boys will eat. I doubled it and used 12 boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I also let the lentils soak for an hour before starting. I did not have a problem with mine drying out, probably because of the added chicken. My lentils were just perfect with this timing. I added extra garlic because we love it. I also used both parsnips and carrots because that is what I had. I also added the salt at the end. Really needs some rice. Basmati was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Really good. This was my first time cooking with lentils, and I didn't have the time to soak like other reviewers mentioned, so I didn't. That said, the recipe could have used an extra 15 minutes or so of cooking to soften the lentils a bit more. The flavor was great, and due to the other reviewers, I skipped the tomato sauce and rosemary and added cumin and coriander instead. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
really healthy and good. the longer you cook it the better. the directions confuse me because there are too many timings. I just saute the onions in oil. add the chicken and cook about 20 mins. add the remaining ingredients and cook about an hr and 30 mins. then i d-bone the meat, discard bones and put meat back. if you like a little kick in your food. add a bit of cumin and pepper flakes. i made this recipe into a stew/soup like texture. tastes way better that way! so add more chicken stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresita Nguyen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States