Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
really healthy and good. the longer you cook it the better. the directions confuse me because there are too many timings. I just saute the onions in oil. add the chicken and cook about 20 mins. add the remaining ingredients and cook about an hr and 30 mins. then i d-bone the meat, discard bones and put meat back. if you like a little kick in your food. add a bit of cumin and pepper flakes. i made this recipe into a stew/soup like texture. tastes way better that way! so add more chicken stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Very yummy. I did as others have suggested and added some cumin in it and wow did it taste good. I also added a bit more chicken stock as well to prevent from drying. I could eat this all alone without the chicken. Will make again for sure. Thanks for a good healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Delicious! It's one of my favorites.vI have made this recipe for my picky boys and my husband, they love it. The only thing i do different is I brown the chicken with onion wedges and garlic chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Family did not like this. Soaked lentils x 1 hour and cooked longer and they were still tough. Just an odd mixture, the lemon juice didnt add anything to this and it was time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Five stars for being healthy AND good. I followed the recipe except used boneless chicken, and grilled them slightly before adding to the mix. I did use the tomato sauce and it really complemented the other seasonings. Finding good recipes that use lentils is hard, but this was a great one...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Who knew lentils could be so good. As reccomended by others, I soaked the lentils and used fresh herbs but other than that I followed the directions exactly. This was really good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Pretty tasty, and really nutritious. I did, as other reviewers also reported, omit the tomatoes - the taste was nice prior to adding them, so I decided to cut my losses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
A little hesitant at first as it fifn't sound too flavorful, but it was great!! Left out the tomato sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
The whole family loved this...kids included. This will definitely be a regular around our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Excellent. I did everything as written, except: soaked lentils for approx 45 mins before cooking, used onion/celery/carrot juice instead of chicken broth (didn't have any broth) and added a can of diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States