Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Pretty tasty. I soaked my white lentils for an hour beforehand and they were perfect. I also used fresh rosemary and basil from the garden (1 tsp each- needs more). Splashed in a bit of balsamic from previous reviewer suggestion. I chopped up my chicken into bite size pieces so didn't cook them the whole 20 minutes, but more like 5. Will use the whole pieces next time. I didn't use any tomato sauce per previous reviews. And forgot to add the cumin everyone was suggesting. So my result wasn't following the recipe perfectly, but was pretty close. And it's pretty good. It's certainly easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great hearty meal - and healthy too! I used cubed chicken cutlets. Meant to season them while cooking so they absorb some flavor... next time! Used shredded carrots, added garlic with the onion; cumin and coriander in place of rosemary and left out the tomato sauce. I used red lentils but will definitely use brown next time as the red lentils just turned into mush and I had to quickly cook rice for this to be served on. I could kick myself for having forgotten to add the lemon juice at the end... with the cumin, coriander and lemon juice flavors, this becomes very similar to a Persian stew - which is just yumminess all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was very good. I used 4 smallish boneless chicken breasts cut up into 1-inch pieces. The only other changes I made were to add cumin (recommended by so may others) and at the end, added a tablespoon of sherry vinegar at the end along with the lemon juice. If it's a little too soupy, simmer uncovered for a few minutes to reduce down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This dish is quite flavorful. i soaked the lentils and added the onion, carrot, and garlic to the chicken instead of removing the chicken (I also used boneless skinless chicken thighs). I found that soaking the lentils decreased the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ospooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
yummy! left out the rosemary and lemon. and added some paprika and a small bay leaf. will make again. gets better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very good. I soak the Lentil for a couple hours before I cook them and also I didn't use the Rosemary or lemon juice. And it still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is pretty good. My husband really liked it. It is soupier than I expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLS38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
LOVED this - whole family did. A couple of small changes: soaked lentils 1 hour before cooking. added cumin to chicken breasts (used boneless thighs) before adding to broth. And added a splash of balsamic vinegar at end. Served over basmati rice, but great on its own... Did not add tomato sauce based on reviews, but will try diced tomatoes next time for an added something. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I used almost 3 cups of broth and skipped tomato sauce and lemon juice. It turned out to be a very comforting food. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was so good, I have never had much success with lentils in the past, but came upon this recipe looking for something I could make using lemons and rosemary from my garden. I made some changes using what I had at home: 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, chicken boullion instead of broth, no tomato sauce, fresh rosemary, doubled because I didn't use basil, added ~1/2 Tb. balsamic vinegar at the end with the lemon. This was great, I can't wait to eat leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States