Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
We made this the other night with boneless skinless chicken breasts. Otherwise, we followed the recipe exact using red lentils. We really LOVED the texture and the veggies, but we thought it was missing a little kick. We love spices, so the next time we make it, we'll probably quadruple the garlic and add a serrano pepper or cayenne powder. It's a perfect, healthy meal with a side of whole wheat flatbread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RowanaSabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Followed the directions except used boneless chicken breast and added leftover salsa and cooked in crockpot on low for 6 hours. We ate it over angel hair pasta. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was extremely tasty! I've never made lentils before, but I'm now a convert. I changed the recipe slightly: soaked 1/2 cup dried brown lentils for about 2 hours before cooking; used chicken breast diced up into large pieces instead of bone-in chicken pieces, and seasoned with salt and pepper when cooking them. kept all other ingredients in the same amounts, so it made the final result a little more liquidy. I subbed fresh chopped tomatoes for the tomato sauce. I was going for a more middle-eastern taste, so I subbed 1 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp baharat spice blend (google it!) for the rosemary and basil. stirred through lemon juice and plain yoghurt at the end, served over basmati rice and it was fab! If I had any fresh mint, I would've added that too. great recipe for lentil virgins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I made the Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken from this site a couple of days ago and had some leftover shredded chicken that I used for this recipe. It was great, turned out very flavorful. I left out the tomato sauce and exchanged cumin for the rosemary as others had suggested. We will be making this again for sure, a tasty dish with little effor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I skipped the tomato sauce because this was just so tasty without it (kept the lemon though)! Easy to prepare and an awesome slow-carb meal. Served with asparagus- DELISH! Easy, yummy, and healthy. It's definitely going into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Well, when I pulled out my chicken, it was expired. So I went ahead and just made the lentil part, which was easy and tasty. I was worried about waiting too long for them to be done, so I soaked them for probably about an hour (accidentally-I meant it to be 30 minutes...), then they ended up cooking for about 40 minutes. I didn't add salt or any of the tomato sauce stuff. I'll have to try this again with chicken ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lulu
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Really liked this! I DID include the tomato sauce (unlike many others) and think it helped add a kick to it. I also added cumin to part of the batch and it was tasty either way. Only real alteration I might suggest is to use skinless, boneless chicken breast. It cuts @ 75 calories per serving from an already healthy, low fat meal and the taste was still good. Will make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I omit the tomato sauce and add a couple of handfuls of chopped fresh tomatoes instead. Also soaking the lentils before you cook them shortens the cooking time. I also have a moroccan seasoning that I add to the pot that really brings out the north african flavours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for. Simple, hearty, delicious and healthy. This will definitely be put into regular meal circulation. I used French lentils, and frozen chicken thighs. No tomato sauce, but hit it with a drizzle of high quality balsamic vinegar at the end. I couldn't stop eating it, the kids were mixed reviews, curse that late snack. The hungrier ones loved it, lol. Incidentally, I had soaked the lentils for aboooouut uh, 2 days. I had planned to make it sooner. So I kind of eyeballed the liquids. I served it with some crusty sourdough bread and red wine (for me, not the kids ;)Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
What a tasty, easy dish! I used 3c stock (my own turkey stock from this year's Thanksgiving - pulled from freezer- and low sodium by default), a can of diced salt free tomatoes and fresh ground black pepper, cumin, turmeric and chili flakes for spices. I started with the onion and garlic (double to 4 cloves) and spices for a few minutes, to infuse the oil and toast the spices. Then browned the chicken while finishing the the onion and garlic - no need to add then remove chicken. Then added the lentils and stirred for a couple of minutes, then the carrots, same amount of time. Then I added the liquid ingredients, a bit of salt and put on the lid and simmered all for a good 1.5 hours while doing other things. I finished it off with the lemon juice and garnished with fresh cilantro. I used one pot, no in and out of anything - a happy stew was had. Dark meat would also be tasty but I used breast. Also think it would be nice with spicy sausage or even a firm white fish, added at the end. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States