Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was extremely tasty! I've never made lentils before, but I'm now a convert. I changed the recipe slightly: soaked 1/2 cup dried brown lentils for about 2 hours before cooking; used chicken breast diced up into large pieces instead of bone-in chicken pieces, and seasoned with salt and pepper when cooking them. kept all other ingredients in the same amounts, so it made the final result a little more liquidy. I subbed fresh chopped tomatoes for the tomato sauce. I was going for a more middle-eastern taste, so I subbed 1 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp baharat spice blend (google it!) for the rosemary and basil. stirred through lemon juice and plain yoghurt at the end, served over basmati rice and it was fab! If I had any fresh mint, I would've added that too. great recipe for lentil virgins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I made the Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken from this site a couple of days ago and had some leftover shredded chicken that I used for this recipe. It was great, turned out very flavorful. I left out the tomato sauce and exchanged cumin for the rosemary as others had suggested. We will be making this again for sure, a tasty dish with little effor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I skipped the tomato sauce because this was just so tasty without it (kept the lemon though)! Easy to prepare and an awesome slow-carb meal. Served with asparagus- DELISH! Easy, yummy, and healthy. It's definitely going into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Well, when I pulled out my chicken, it was expired. So I went ahead and just made the lentil part, which was easy and tasty. I was worried about waiting too long for them to be done, so I soaked them for probably about an hour (accidentally-I meant it to be 30 minutes...), then they ended up cooking for about 40 minutes. I didn't add salt or any of the tomato sauce stuff. I'll have to try this again with chicken ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lulu
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Really liked this! I DID include the tomato sauce (unlike many others) and think it helped add a kick to it. I also added cumin to part of the batch and it was tasty either way. Only real alteration I might suggest is to use skinless, boneless chicken breast. It cuts @ 75 calories per serving from an already healthy, low fat meal and the taste was still good. Will make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I omit the tomato sauce and add a couple of handfuls of chopped fresh tomatoes instead. Also soaking the lentils before you cook them shortens the cooking time. I also have a moroccan seasoning that I add to the pot that really brings out the north african flavours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for. Simple, hearty, delicious and healthy. This will definitely be put into regular meal circulation. I used French lentils, and frozen chicken thighs. No tomato sauce, but hit it with a drizzle of high quality balsamic vinegar at the end. I couldn't stop eating it, the kids were mixed reviews, curse that late snack. The hungrier ones loved it, lol. Incidentally, I had soaked the lentils for aboooouut uh, 2 days. I had planned to make it sooner. So I kind of eyeballed the liquids. I served it with some crusty sourdough bread and red wine (for me, not the kids ;)Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
What a tasty, easy dish! I used 3c stock (my own turkey stock from this year's Thanksgiving - pulled from freezer- and low sodium by default), a can of diced salt free tomatoes and fresh ground black pepper, cumin, turmeric and chili flakes for spices. I started with the onion and garlic (double to 4 cloves) and spices for a few minutes, to infuse the oil and toast the spices. Then browned the chicken while finishing the the onion and garlic - no need to add then remove chicken. Then added the lentils and stirred for a couple of minutes, then the carrots, same amount of time. Then I added the liquid ingredients, a bit of salt and put on the lid and simmered all for a good 1.5 hours while doing other things. I finished it off with the lemon juice and garnished with fresh cilantro. I used one pot, no in and out of anything - a happy stew was had. Dark meat would also be tasty but I used breast. Also think it would be nice with spicy sausage or even a firm white fish, added at the end. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I've made this recipe about 4 times now. The first 2 times I made it as stated. Delicious! I then left out the tomato Sauce at the end. We liked it better. I made it last night for dinner using french lentils, no tom sauce and spiced pumpkin seeds as garnish. We served it over brown rice and everyone was in heaven. I would give this recipe 10 stars if possible. Don't be afraid to play with it. Oh also I always cook it in my crockpot 6 hrs on low 4 on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Nice and Easy to prepare. Suprisingly great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States