Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This turned out great. I soaked my lentils in salt water for about 2 hours before hand. I've not had much luck with them cooking to tender in the past without doubling or even tripling the cook time. This worked well. I also used 1 tsp basil instead of basil and rosemary because I dislike rosemary so much. I used boneless skinless breasts because that is all I buy and I also used salsa instead of tomato sauce because I did not have tomato sauce on hand. I will make this again and will probably use it a lot. It would be wonderful without the chicken as a side dish but the next time I make it, I will chunck the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This recipe was great. I soaked the lentils as many people reccomended but otherwise did not change a thing. Very flavourful, filling and healthy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have cooked this recipe several times. My husband and I absolutely love it! I typically use boneless, skinless chicken breast and more garlic and tomato sauce than what the recipe calls for. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Chapmanville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Love this one! Healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
An excellent dish that was very tasty. The directions were clear and easy to follow. It was my first time using lentils and I could have let them cook a few minutes longer, but even with that it was a very good dish. Nice on a cold and rainy December evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Walls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
It was a bit bland as is. It also took a long time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Very good! Everybody liked this dish. I soaked the lentils as some had suggested and it did cut down the cooking time. I had chicken tenderloins that I cut into bite sized pieces and that cut down the cooking even further. I took the cumin substitution suggestion, used tomato puree, and added one of those Swanson's Flavor Boosts (veggie flavor) instead of salt. This was a great combo and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This turned out really well and it was pretty simple to make. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was absolutely DELISH! instead of tomato sauce i added in a fourth of a cup of my homeade salsa (diced tomato, red onion, parsley, and olive oil) it turned out super flavorful and yummy. going to serve this over rice. was a little too soupy because i used extra broth like others had suggested so i just simmered for 10 more minutes, uncovered... did make my brown lentils a teensy mushy but not too bad. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I really love this meal, but husband is only so-so about it. Maybe he just doesn't appreciate lentils. Aside from soaking the lentils beforehand, this meal seems to come together pretty fast. The cooking time allows me to get my kitchen mess cleaned up which makes after dinner clean-up that much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States