Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is a great recipe! I've made it twice now, and it is always so easy and delicious. The only difference is that I use boneless, skinless chicken breast instead of bone-in because it's easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I have made this several times, except I omit the rosemary (I hate rosemary), and I love it. I actually don't use chicken though, I use bone-in ham steak and it's fabulous. I've also tried it with smoked sausage, and that's my favorite. Can't go wrong with this one. Super easy & versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Boneless, skinless breasts, didn't soak the lentils, had to sub shallot for onion, V8 for broth, and diced tomatoes for sauce (using what was in the cupboard), and forgot to add the herbs & lemon. Still was very good & kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Loved it! Doubled the recipe and I used Boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into bit size pieces, and tomato and basil sauce instead of tomato sauce. I just cut the amount of basil the recipe called for. I think I might add some green bell pepper next time!! I also used low sodium chicken broth instead of water... This was absolutely yummy tho...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I used green lentils and increased the cooking time. Instead of braising the chicken in the chicken stock liquid, I added the herbs and tomato sauce and braised the chicken in that for 40 minutes. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very good recipe. Served with some noodles and sprinkled some cheese ontop. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Loved by the whole family (husband, 3 year old and myself) Very easy and VERY good. I just changed a couple of things. I put my Lentils in water for about 45 min. I cut my chicken in chunks and cooked it fully. I used about 1/2 an onion. I will be making this meal again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This turned out great. I soaked my lentils in salt water for about 2 hours before hand. I've not had much luck with them cooking to tender in the past without doubling or even tripling the cook time. This worked well. I also used 1 tsp basil instead of basil and rosemary because I dislike rosemary so much. I used boneless skinless breasts because that is all I buy and I also used salsa instead of tomato sauce because I did not have tomato sauce on hand. I will make this again and will probably use it a lot. It would be wonderful without the chicken as a side dish but the next time I make it, I will chunck the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This recipe was great. I soaked the lentils as many people reccomended but otherwise did not change a thing. Very flavourful, filling and healthy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have cooked this recipe several times. My husband and I absolutely love it! I typically use boneless, skinless chicken breast and more garlic and tomato sauce than what the recipe calls for. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Chapmanville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States