Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I also made this in the slow cooker and omitted the tomato sauce. I added some herbs and spices and an extra can of broth, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Very yummy! I substituted mushrooms for the carrots, only because I was out. It was fabulous. I also used tomato paste in lieu of tomato sauce, for the same reason. It was great. I did add water a couple of times while cooking, probably due to lack of liquid without the tomato sauce. I will defintely make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I love the usual lentil soup, but I decided to try this new recipe and it is delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Badajoz, Extremadura, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very good and different, exotically flavored chicken dish. I made it once and it seemed a little too salty so the second time I made it I used a pinch rather than the 1/2 teaspoon as directed. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was very tasty and very filling. I added more broth than called for so it wouldn't get dry...but then it was a little too watery so I mixed together cornstarch and a little white wine to thicken it up nicely. We enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was my first time cooking with lentils, and I have to admit I was a little intimidated by them. I really enjoyed this recipe. I did make one change, I used the meat from a precooked rotisary chicken in place of the bone in chicken, I just added at the end with the spices and tomato sauce, this cut back on the cooking time a lot. This recipe was so easy and tasty, I am excited about trying some new lentil recipes!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was really good. I used 1 tsp fresh basil instead of 1/2 dried because my husband, the food snob, said that dried basil is really to be used when it can cook for awhile for the flavors to escape. We all liked it and then, my husband put a few drops of a very nice Balsamic vinegar and some long shavings of parmesean reggiano cheese on it for garnish and wow! I thought it was good but when he did that, I knew what the others were talking about when they said it needed something more. I will add the Balsamic after the lemon juice from now on. Thanks! We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I used more lentils and soaked them the night before. Great hearty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We both loved this! I didn't have lemon juice on hand, but it turned out really well. It would be easier to eat with boneless/skinless meat. I agree with the other reviewers who suggested adding more broth- trouble is, how much? It seemed like I went through at least 4 cups of broth throughout the entire process... But I will make this again and again. Definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffNie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States