Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! I didn't soak the lentils, but I did use 1 tsp of fresh rosemary and fresh basil and added it while the lentils were cooking with the broth, I also used a jar of marinara sauce in place of the plain tomato sauce, I am not a lemon person so I omitted it but dh asked me to add it next time and also to try some cumin or curry in it. Thanks for a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was soooo good!!! I didn't add the tomato sauce in at the end and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was our first time cooking with lentils. This was a really good recipe, I agree withothers comments to even make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Gardner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erin, New York, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Very yummy. I put it all in my crock pot and then scraped the chicken off the bones and stirred it together! Was a bit too salty so I don't think I will add any salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is an excellent base recipe. A person could do just about anything with it. I prefer not to add the rosemary. It is still very flavorful and has a comforting stew-like texture. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I used fresh basil and rosemary and cooked the chicken for a lot longer. Other than that, the cooking times were right on. For the lentils I used the generic lentils from the grocery store, so I didn't have any trouble with cooking them- I did not soak them either. Definitely add the lemon juice. I served this over whole wheat spiral pasta with parmesan cheese- Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I made it exactly as the recipe says, and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This turned out quite good. Used boneless, skinless chicken cubed, didn't add the salt as I didn't feel it needed it with the chicken broth and subbed salsa instead of tomato sauce per a couple other recommendations. I skipped the rosemary as I didn't like the sound of it with this dish. Otherwise, served over whole wheat spaghetti and found it to be a very hearty and filling meal. Would like to try using different lentils as I used red and find these to take on a mushier consistency, almost seems like potato is in the dish (found the same when I made Spinach Lentil Soup from this site). Anyway, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I threw everything in the crockpot, added green pepper and substituted duck instead of chicken. YUMMM! I also used 1/2 spaghetti sauce and 1/2 homemade salsa. And 1 1/2 c. chicken stock. Served over macaroni. Great winter, warm up your body & soul dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very delicious dish, but I tweaked it (as I always seem to do) by adding a skosh of Madras Curry, some black pepper, 4 fire roasted red sweet peppers and some smoked, sliced Andouille sausage. I also threw in a few good dollops of a good yoghurt right before serving to add creaminess and tang. It was very good before. It's even better now and is a meal by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States