Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kyliemccready
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe but felt like it was missing something on its own. We had it on a bed of couscous and in the future I would serve it with warm na'an bread. Will make again and use on top of either rice, pasta, couscous, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I loved this recipe! Added fresh tomatoes,cumin and cilantro served on a heated whole wheat wrap with shredded mexican mix cheese. For additional toppings salsa or picante sauce with a dollop of plain greek yogurt. I don't use sour cream anymore on anything as you can't tell the difference and so much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was the first time I have tried to cook lentils. The only thing I did different from the recipe was I soaked the lentils for an hour before hand and I used a hole cup of lentils instead of 3/4. I just added a half of can of water when I added the tomato sauce..oh and I used chicken tenders instead of bone in chicken. It was really good. I served it over basmati rice. Next time I make it I'm going to add some spicy curry powder to it. Yums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
this recipe was fairly easy and tasty. I used canned chicken and added 1 can of Rotel and 1 can of tomato sauce. I also used oregano and basil instead of rosemary and made the dish a little southwest. Added Monterey jack cheese to the bowl and voila! It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Tasty and easy. I used diced chicken breast and red lentils. Had leftover tomato/mushroom Marsala sauce from a meal I cooked earlier in the week so used that. Added a few splashes of hot sauce to spice it up a little. Garnished with a cheese of my choice. Will make this recipe again. Made enough for several "left over" meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I left out the Salt andRosemary (because i didnt have any!). Used diced tomatoes instead of sauce. Also used chunks of chicken breast instead of bone in chicken. It was GREAT!! First time i ever cooked lentils,i did soak them a bit before cooking. But I will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Great recipe for non lentil lovers. Put all ingrediance in a crockpot for 6 hours on low. My tweeks: no carrots,petit diced tomatoes 1/2 can and added turmeric and red pepper flake. In the crock pot I added things in this order. 1st layer lentils,onions,tomatoe seasoning and water. Then added skinless chciken thighs season them again and added a few more onion. I adjusted the salt while cooking. Family liked it and they're not lentil fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I used boneless skinless chicken cut into chunks, no other changes. I make this dish quite often, it is delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
It's a great easy recipe. I've made it multiple times and I love it!!! It's hearty, tasty, home cooked meal. I would recommend it to anyone who is curious about lentils but doesn't know if they'll like the final product. Kids have even given me 2 thumbs up because they loved the taste...which I must say lentils usually wouldn't be one of those foods. Lol I would recommend soaking the lentils overnight or even while chopping veggies...it makes a difference in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this recipe as is (with the exception of using boneless, skinless chicken breast meat because that's what I already had on hand) and thought it was pretty decent. I also thought it tasted a little better after sitting in the fridge for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States