Chicken and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Excellent! I usually finish the chicken by baking in the oven until fully cooked. Then I cut it up and stir it back in. I find green lentils work the best. The red lentils turn to mush. I usually boil the lentils in a separate pot until they are cooked. Besides my method, I use all the ingredients as stated and it turns out delicious! If you don't like rosemary, this isn't the recipe for you. My husband and toddlers love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I made this for the first time tonight and I have to say I really like it! I didn't have any chicken broth on hand so I used chicken bouillon and omitted the salt I also didn't have any tomato sauce so I diced up some tomatoes instead. I have to say it is quite delicious and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I've been bean hater for my entire life until today! love love this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoonhoo Nam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This dish was very good. Even my very picky kids almost licked the plate clean. I made it as is, but next time will add more lentils. I made the mistake of adding some water before I added the chicken. Once I added the tomato sauce it turned out too watery, so next time I won't add any extra water. Was very tasty, and healthy. And if I can get the kids to eat something healthy, I'm making it! So this will be in our regular rotation from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGplus3
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Really delicious! I took another reviewers note and went more middle eastern (because that's what I was craving) so instead of Rosemary I added thyme, cumin, and sumac. I will try the way the recipe is written in the future. This recipe is very flexible and so delicious! I had hoped for leftovers for lunch but unfortunately there are none!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I used boneless skinless chicken breasts, added an additional clove of garlic, a tsp of good balsamic vinegar right before serving, and lemon wedges on the side instead of adding it to the whole dish. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kyliemccready
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe but felt like it was missing something on its own. We had it on a bed of couscous and in the future I would serve it with warm na'an bread. Will make again and use on top of either rice, pasta, couscous, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I loved this recipe! Added fresh tomatoes,cumin and cilantro served on a heated whole wheat wrap with shredded mexican mix cheese. For additional toppings salsa or picante sauce with a dollop of plain greek yogurt. I don't use sour cream anymore on anything as you can't tell the difference and so much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was the first time I have tried to cook lentils. The only thing I did different from the recipe was I soaked the lentils for an hour before hand and I used a hole cup of lentils instead of 3/4. I just added a half of can of water when I added the tomato sauce..oh and I used chicken tenders instead of bone in chicken. It was really good. I served it over basmati rice. Next time I make it I'm going to add some spicy curry powder to it. Yums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
this recipe was fairly easy and tasty. I used canned chicken and added 1 can of Rotel and 1 can of tomato sauce. I also used oregano and basil instead of rosemary and made the dish a little southwest. Added Monterey jack cheese to the bowl and voila! It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States