Chicken and Lentils with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I was looking for a recipe for chicken breasts with bones in (hard to fine these days), and I found this one. I was delighted with the way it turned out. It got raves from my family. The chicken was unusually tender, savory, and piquant. I didn't have seasoning salt on hand, so I improvised with salt, garlic, parsley, paprika, and pepper. Also, I cooked the lentils for twice as long (approx. 40 minutes) as the recipe called for. There were a LOT of lentils, but we'll eat them as a side dish after all the chicken is gone. Thanks for this great, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
The chicken was very good and the kids even at it-amazing! But there was way too many lentils for 4 servings. Next time I will cut the lentils in half. But very yummy! Also, I think it would be good with smaller pieces of chicken, like drumsticks and wings, or maybe just chunks of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Yummyyy... made this on Val. day and left out the pimintos (because I didn't have them)and everyone loved it! Even my 9yo sis who hates lentils loved it.. she actually requested that I make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Excellent flavor. My kids are not crazy about lentils. I also felt it could use a few less lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe has been updated with a correction from the submitter. The recipe now calls for a package of steamed lentils, not uncooked lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was delicious and easy to make! I didn't have Lawry's so in place I used Mrs. Dash/Chicken. I will keep this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Really enjoyed this recipe, The kids both ate it all up. I did not add the pimento since I had none. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Some people think they need a lot of crazy thing for a good recipe. I think this one kind of goes down that road. There are too many Lentils for this dish. I feel overwhelmed by the protein and fiber. This one needs more carbs!! Maybe some potatoes or noodles... Nah Not noodles. I think that this idea is sound but I don't like using white Balsamic vinegar. It has a harsh flavor and makes me think this recipe was just thrown together instead of thought out. I do like the use of fine chopped carrots though. Most people forget how carrots can lend a light sweetness to a dish that is not overwhelming and makes for a good addition for some easy veggies. Lentils are great but this one just has too many. Also think about how this could be cooked in a casserole dish instead of a skillet. I don't own a skillet big enough to accommodate this much food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Knight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Everyone loved this. I used some extra homemade chicken stock and everyone had a bowl of soup as a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This dish was very flavorful. My son even ate it up! I used regular balsamic vinegar as I had no white balsamic on hand. I used regular chicken breast without the bone and that is the only change I would make for next time. I would definitely use the bone-in. Otherwise this was fantastic and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States