Chicken and Leek Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This turned out REALLY good. I altered it slightly, but only for my own convenience. Instead of browning the chicken, I pre-baked it for an hour at 350, covered. So, I sauteed the leeks alone until soft, then added the soup and 1 cup of chicken broth (because I didn't want to buy wine), then added the cornstarch and let thicken. Once the chicken was finished, I shredded it, transferred to a square 8 X 8 pyrex baking dish, mixed with the leek/soup mixture, then covered with a single sheet of puff pastry. It turned out very good, just like chicken pot pie. Excellent comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
this was super tasty, and I don't even usually like things like chicken pot pie... i used a can of condensed cream of asparagus instead of vegetable soup, and added some broccoli florets... turned out delicious and actually i thought it looked pretty good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caterwauler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This was really tasty, I also put in some fresh chopped asparagus which added to the flavour (you could also try broccoli). I put puff pasty on top of the casserole dish sprinkled with poppy seeds which really worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
Tastes good - added mushrooms is also nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My family really enjoyed this. Like another reviewer suggested, I sauteed the leeks in olive oil with some minced garlic. I did add in some steamed broccoli, shredded carrots, and I ended up using cream of chicken soup as I didn't have condensed vegetable soup. I suspect this would work well with many condensed soups, based on your tastes. (I'm considering trying a different one next time, just to see the variation in taste.) But we will definitely be making this again, as my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Nummy! I just got done with dinner and had 2 helpings! Never have had leeks before and got some from a friend and came across this. Changes- Light cream of chicken soup, sparkling wine( what I had) and some mixed veggies and sauted the leeks in olive oil with fresh garlic. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I was looking to use the leeks I got from the farmer's market This is like a super fast chicken pot pie! My family loved it! I did use chicken broth instead of wine because my kids don't like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAJAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
very delicious and even better with a hint of garlic added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
It looked like very mushy sick, it tasted OK, but lacked on appearance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Absolutely full of flavour. I just followed the recipe and it turned out great. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States