Chicken and Gnocchi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
One runs out of options when attempting to describe a recipe you enjoyed a lot and then, unfortunately, every attempt begins to sound cliche. So, simply said, this soup is simply excellent...in every way. It's easy to prepare (I bought a rotisserie chicken and made a stock of the carcass), uses just a few, simple, fresh and healthy ingredients, smells awesome good while cooking, pretty to look at, and goes down reaaaaaaal easy and good. I also appreciated that the soup depends strictly on the flavor of its few, good ingredients and doesn't have to be pumped up with a ton of spices and herbs to make it good. Delicious, simple comfort food. Oh - and I prepared the recipe exactly as the submitter wrote it, not using the optional cornstarch slurry. It was perfectly thick and hearty without it! (I originally posted this review back in February 2011 when it was still a “Personal Recipe.” Glad to see it now published as a “Kitchen Approved Recipe!”)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
567 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Good as written, but like other reviewers I did not add the cornstarch & water. However due to high cholesterol issues at our house, we opted for a lower fat version made by substituting the half and half for fat free evaporated milk. (Fat free half and half will also work but I prefer the flavor of the evaporated fat free milk). We also increased the spinach to 8 ounces for extra iron and decreased the gnocchi by half. I let the soup cook a little longer, uncovered on simmer, to thicken. Saved a ton of calories while keeping the flavor of the original recipe and was super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I thought the soup was excellent. For all the people who cant find Gnocchi, most grocery stores will sell it in a vacuum sealed pouch in the pasta section. Even Walmart sells it!! Try the whole wheat and sweet potato gnocchi too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I have been making this soup for 3 years now. But not from this site. This recipe is missing something fundamental. Flavour. I would suggest a tsp of thyme. Personally I also had just a hint of nutmeg and a Tbsp of sugar. I would always add these seasonings along with salt and pepper to the veggies once cooked and leave for a minute before adding anything else to let them infuse. Also I would suggest a quick chop to the spinach so you don't get long slimy strings. These changes will make it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I've made this twice in the past couple of weeks - once with gnocchi from the pasta aisle and once with the refrigerated stuff. We definitely preferred the refrigerated gnocchi! This soup has great flavor and consistency. My son declared that this is the best chicken soup he's ever had! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This soup is SOO good. I did modify it a bit. Instead of 1 T of oo, I used 4 T of butter & made a roux with 4 T of flour after cooking the veggies (omitting cornstarch). I added the carrots with the broth and added roasted chicken at toward the end of cooking. I also added about 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese and some spices (to the soup & chicken before roasting) -- thyme, sage, and paprika. Last time we went to Olive Garden, my husband said he liked this recipe better. Hmmmm - did that just backfire on me? :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This soup is absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly; however, I did omit the cornstarch & water......it didn't need it. My grocery did not have the small gnocchi so I did cut mine in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Simply genius! I ALWAYS get the chicken and gnocchi soup at Olive Garden with their salad and breadsticks. It's possibly my favorite restaurant meal. This is so similar to Olive Garden's recipe it's scary! I did try a few things different; but not much. I used about a cup or cup and a half more chicken broth because I made my own homemade gnocchis that my family has been making for YEARS and added about a tablespoon of flour to the soup after I poured in the half and half for a slightly thicker consistency. Turned out AMAZING. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!! I'm definitely keeping this one safe. HOMEMADE GNOCCHIS -------------------------- for this recipe: 1 cup left over mashed potatoes (just butter and milk mashed potatoes) 1 cup flour tsp salt Mix all together with your hands and roll out like a snake and cut into cubes. Use these in place of the premade gnocchis and cook just like the recipe says. For another recipe... you can make the gnocchis, boil for about 7 minutes and serve with warm marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This soup is delicious and perfet for a cool fall day! I did not use the cornstarch/water mixture. I used nonfat half and half and a rotisserie chicken and it was thick, creamy, and had a great flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Christina, this soup is excellent! Everyone here absolutely loves it. Delicious, easy, fast and full of ingredients that we all love and are always in the pantry/fridge. Followed the recipe (doubled to feed my crowd) with the exception of only adding a handful of the baby spinach leaves, knowing that there are a couple of the little ones that would not be happy seeing them. Well, I should have gone ahead with the full amount... they ate every bite with no complaints and lots of compliments and second helpings. The "cooks note" with the chicken tenders tip was perfect. There was a long "discussion" over who should be allowed to take the leftovers home with them this evening. This really is the best soup that we have had in a long time. We will enjoy this often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States