Chicken and Gnocchi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I cannot wait to try this recipe! I love the chicken and gnocchi soup at OG (one of teh few things I'll eat there) and this looks like it will be similar! Thank-you, and I'll rate it when I've tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joseph, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lyons, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
One runs out of options when attempting to describe a recipe you enjoyed a lot and then, unfortunately, every attempt begins to sound cliche. So, simply said, this soup is simply excellent...in every way. It's easy to prepare (I bought a rotisserie chicken and made a stock of the carcass), uses just a few, simple, fresh and healthy ingredients, smells awesome good while cooking, pretty to look at, and goes down reaaaaaaal easy and good. I also appreciated that the soup depends strictly on the flavor of its few, good ingredients and doesn't have to be pumped up with a ton of spices and herbs to make it good. Delicious, simple comfort food. Oh - and I prepared the recipe exactly as the submitter wrote it, not using the optional cornstarch slurry. It was perfectly thick and hearty without it! (I originally posted this review back in February 2011 when it was still a “Personal Recipe.” Glad to see it now published as a “Kitchen Approved Recipe!”)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
567 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Hi, Love this recipe. Have been making a version of it for years. For Jeri - Trader Joe's carries Gnocchi in the pasta section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This soup is delicious and perfet for a cool fall day! I did not use the cornstarch/water mixture. I used nonfat half and half and a rotisserie chicken and it was thick, creamy, and had a great flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious! I did use store bought gnocchi and I had meant to just buy a rotisserie chicken for this but I forgot so I ended up baking a couple of chicken breast. Instead of shredding the carrot I left in chunks...this soup was the perfect thickness and flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Loved it. I didn't have any celery so used some celery seed for flavor. I use the frozen gnocchi found in the freezer section, it's more like what you get at Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was pretty good! I stuck to the recipe. There is alot of chopping to do for this recipe, so I just put all of the veggies in the food processor and let it go! So much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAMARIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
We have been making more homemade soups lately and this soup is one of the best! I poached 2 boneless chicken breasts,cut them into cubes and added them to the soup. Like most of the other reviews I didn't add the optional cornstarch. It is creamy and comforting and a new family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Being a vegetarian, I swapped veggie broth for chicken broth and swapped equal amount of cubed, firm tofu for the chicken-- my carnivorous husband and I both loved it! We also used 1/2 regular half and half and the other 1/2 fat free. we skipped the thickening steps and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
AWESOME RECIPE! That said, it was a little diffacult to find Gnocchi. I finally found Gnocchi at PUBLIX. We are soup lovers in this house, so I simply doubled the recipe. There wasn't any leftovers. This is definately a keeper recipe. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States