Chicken and Gnocchi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very good recipe. Easy to adjust seasoning to suit your tastes. No one should ever downgrade a recipe because it is "bland" For crying out loud, get out your favorite herbs and spices and ADJUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We truly enjoyed this, but just felt it needed a little something, so added some freshly snipped basil, a bit of thyme, a touch of red pepper flakes and a handful of Parm. Didn't add the cornstarch. Will definitely make again, and thanks Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I didn't really like the gnocchi in this soup but maybe it was the gnocchi I bought. I will definitely make this soup again but next time I will try replacing the gnocchi with barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I found this recipe while searching here for something to use up gnocchi and a box of spinach that I had to use up (trying to go this week with no more grocery purchases but rather whatever we have on hand). It's stellar...my family (3 college students/their friends and husband) all told me how wonderful dinner was and how good it tasted over and over. I doubled the recipe (I had two boxes of gnocchi and potential of several kids home tonight)...I poached a bit over 2 lbs of chicken breasts on the stove..I used that liquid plus 2 cans of purchased chicken broth for the doubled recipe. I could only find 2 stalks of celery in my frig...so I grabbed a zucchini to add filler...no fresh spinach so used a 10 oz frozen box. Using up fat free half and half, some whipping cream, and some skim...cleaning out the pantry never tasted so good. I'll save the recipe for times when I actually intend to make rather than use it as a miscellaneous kitchen pot...yum...(oh, and I cheated all the way...I pulsed the veggies in the food processor rather than cutting pretty...then I turned around and pulsed the chicken breasts..not so long it was mush but rather short stringey texture rather than cubed..apparently, no one cared as they all ate seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was love at first bite! I’ve made this several times and each time it’s been fabulous, although I must confess that I double the amount of spinach. That’s my favorite part of the soup! As they say, all good things take time. It never hurts to let the vegetables and chicken simmer for a longer period of time so all of the flavors have ample time to absorb into the broth. Another tip is to use well seasoned chicken. That, too, will give it additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I added frozen spinach instead of fresh, and did not want to add the cornstarch, and perhaps that made my broth watery. I thought that the end result was a bit bland, not savory enough for our tastes. I would recommend adding more garlic, as well as ample pepper and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
We love this soup! Reading the ingredients, it doesn't seem like it would have a whole lotta flavor, but indeed it does! Make sure you get the mini gnocchi and not the larger ones, because they are way too big for this delicate soup. It is so yummy and even better the next day. Use the entire amount of spinach, as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debgarben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe tastes exactly like my mom's chicken and dumpling recipe only it's takes 1/20th of the time. All my picky eaters loved it. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very good starting point. I think in the future, I will chop up the spinach so it's not in such large chunks... Also, this didn't turn out as thick as I would've liked. I think next time I'll do a roux. Maybe add some rosemary. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
We liked this, it's on the "keeper" list. I added a little more liquid but that seems to be common for me lately so I'm calling it personal preference. I made homemade squash gnocchi, evaporated milk for the cream and added the spinach at the end because we don't like it too cooked in soups. The shredded carrots were a nice touch that I have never used before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States