Chicken and Gnocchi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this for supper tonight. I read most of the reviews and then decided what I wanted. Was in a hurry so slow simmer my chicken to precook in broth highly seasoned with salt, pepper, sage & thyme. Then started the veggies. Used the broth that I cooked my chicken in, added more sage thyme, basil and a pinch nutmeg. The soup was outstanding. Even my husband loved it. Said it was a nice change. Also, I didn't have enough half & half so used evaporated milk with about 1 Tbsp. of butter. It was excellent. I'm sure leftovers will be even better. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was a definite hit with everyone in the family. Served it with a multi-grain bread. Husband kept raving about it throughout the meal. Skeptical teenager also enjoyed it though she did complain about the texture of the gnocchi upon first bite (didn't stop her from eating it). We did not use the optional cornstarch- really seemed thick enough without it. Took another reviewer's advice and added some thyme for extra flavor otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Used a "cheater" package of pre-cooked refrigerated chicken slices and chopped them up. Loved how this all came together so easily and with ingredients we usually have on hand. This soup is going to be on regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
beautiful recipe, one of my favorites. i use about 2.5-3 lbs of chicken, add a touch more cream and cornstarch, and shred the spinach. also great topped with shredded cheese. never had a single complaint. everybody loves, every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eleske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is an easy, fast and delicious soup.......I like to make on a Sunday and then put into serving size containers for quick lunches/dinners through the week.......if it last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Wow. This was fabulous. I read the reviews and I can't imagine anyone not liking this recipe. I used all the ingredients excluding corn starch and water. I shredded all the veges in the food processor just for consistency. I added heavy cream vs half n half. It was superb. It was 30 degrees outside here and it was so enjoyable eating this by the fire. Ive shared this recipe with several friends and family today. Yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbckng

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Photo by Lillylickerish
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is the most tasty and soul warming soup I've had the pleasure of making! I disagree with the reviews that call it bland. I used all fresh organic ingredients. I only tweaked the recipie a little... Used Organic chicken stock in place of broth, omitted celery (not our fave), and I omitted the cornstarch (we do not consume GMO's) I did splurge and use Organic heavy cream in place of half and half. I think this helped thicken the consistency perfectly without the cornstarch slurry. I love garlic & onion so I added to our liking and added fresh parsley and a ill seasoned salt :) I was a bit hesitant including the whole 6 oz of spinach.. I thought that would have been overkill BUT as is wilted down I kept adding more & more! The 6oz amount recommended was just perfect. Thank you Christina for sharing! My plan is to make another batch for my Italian Mamma, she will appreciate this recipie as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillylickerish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My family's new fav! My teenagers aren't big on the gnocci though. Instead I add fresh mushrooms and it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used the cornstarch - we like a thicker soup. Definitely add fresh thyme - adds wonderful flavor. I used regular spinach with tough stems removed, then coarsely chopped. This is now a fall/winter mainstay in our meal inventory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roslyn Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Christina, this soup is really the best! I had never had gnocchi and learned about this recipe from lisa’s morning post, “What’s for dinner?” I am so glad I copied someone’s suggestion of this soup. I had never tried gnocchi, but had recently bought a package to make something with it. This soup was a winner. I loved all the fresh vegetables in this and thought the broth was loaded with flavor. I gave a large bowl of this to a friend, who thought this was wonderful. She texted me two nights in a row to exclaim how good this soup is. She even asked for a copy of the recipe, which I thought was a great compliment to you. We really enjoyed the gnocchi and I will be purchasing them again. Thanks, Christina! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This soup is one of the best I have tried,easy to make and not expensive at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States