Chicken and Gnocchi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is delightful. Obviously, seasoning is a personal preference. I stuck with the recommended salt and pepper and that was a good choice for us. It allowed the flavors of the soup to really shine through. I only had large gnocchi so end up cutting it into quarters which was a good choice for this soup. I also topped the soup with fresh grated paremesan at serving and I think that added a nice depth to the flavor. This is warm and satisfying for cooler weather, but also unique enough to serve to company. Very nice recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Wow! Unexpectedly delicious! Just looking at the ingredients I wasn't sure how this would turn out. But read the reviews & decided to give it a shot. So glad I did! I wanted to make it easier so cooked three 4oz chicken breasts in a dutch oven with the onions, garlic & celery. After the chicken was browned on both sides, I chopped it into bite size pieces & added the broth. Salt, pepper, a bit of onion powder & a sprinkle of poultry seasoning. Added the gnocchi & let it cook then added the fat free half & half. Boom! Deliciousness! 15 y/o son had 2 big bowls. Oh but I forgot the spinach :( Oh well next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David N Angela Ferber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is deserving of all its 5-star reviews and then some! Wow, is it good. I only had chipotle infused olive oil which is really spicy so I didn't want to use it in this recipe, so I used a pat of butter and a little canola oil in its place. I didn't use the cornstarch because I wasn't using fresh gnocchi (mine were from the pasta aisle), and I did let it simmer a little longer because of that. Doing this released more of the potato starch which makes the cornstarch unneccesary. My whole family loved this!! Even though it does have very little seasoning, it wasn't bland in the least. It probably helped that I used leftover rotisserie chicken, plus the garlic, onions, and flavor from the veggies gave it such a delicious flavor. Definitely plan on making this a lot and making a double or triple batch next time so I can freeze for later crock-pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Really nice soup. Didn't have spinach, so left it out, but still really nice flavour. I used 2 tbsp. of flour rather than cornstarch to thicken the soup. Added a bay leaf to the soup while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is a wonderful dish. I've made it before, but forgot to review it. This lacks nothing and can be made exactly as is. I did have to use frozen spinach, but otherwise followed exactly. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
just finished making this soup. It is a keeper. Season your veggies w/ Oregon, basil, parsley, season your chicken before adding and use a good chicken stock..thats it. flavors come together beautifully. hearty and satisfying....this will be a regular especially with the colder months coming. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
So easy and super delicious! Make it with fat free half and half to cut calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Durband Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This is my new favorite soup! A great, easy recipe! I did not do the cornstarch & water part, I did add a few random spices including Thyme and paprika. I don't think that it really needed it, but the thyme was a nice extra. The leftovers were even great a few days later. The store bought gnocchi from the pasta aisle are fine, I bet it's amazing with homemade. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
SO GOOD!!!! I follow this recipe to a T and fall in love with it every time......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States