Chicken and Fresh Tomato Slow Cooker Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I was a little skeptical. I was afraid the Italian Seasoning was too much, but it is really really good. Will definetly make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was very easy and tasty. I did not have tomato sauce on hand so I substituted with a can of crushed tomatoes which made it very soupy. I probably should have added some tomato paste to thicken it. I cooked some brown rice with it which was very good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Wow! Really yummy! My 2 year old gobbled this up, slirped up his bowl and wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe. I cooked it without the potatoes, only because I didn't have any on hand. I also used canned tomatoes because I didn't have any fresh. To spice it up I sprinkled the chicken with lemon pepper, and added some garlic. I also used one can of garlic and oregano canned tomatoes with a no salt added can of tomatoes and a garlic and oregano tomato sauce, with a no salt added tomato sauce. turned out perfect!! Our whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Don't forget to peel the tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Reminds me of Mom's! I served it over extra-wide egg noodles. Yum! Next time I will probably add add more crushed tomatoes (I used 2 cups) and more carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was delicious and very easy. I used southern style hash browns and canned petite tomatoes to make a little easier. I didn't have tomato sauce on hand so I used a can of tomato soup. I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on the top when serving. It tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Added garlic, soy sauce, and a little ketchup. Also some other veggies. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
this turned out a little thin - made it exactly as stated. served over mashed potatoes because i didn't have noodles on hand. maybe too much "water to cover"? added some barley (3/4 cup) to the remaining stew and it thickened up nicely after an hour. needs a little more seasoning than written. and, oops, i forgot to peel the tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p. smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very good! I used 1 can of tomato sauce and a quart jar of our own tomato sauce with tomato chunks. I added a bag of frozen Italian veggies. My husband and the kids loved it. And it made a really big batch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States