Chicken and Fresh Tomato Slow Cooker Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Used a bone-in skinless breast and cooked on low for 5 hours. Tossed in a yellow bell pepper that I needed to use. Also subbed onion for approx. 4 green onions. Chicken was very soft and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe. I cooked it without the potatoes, only because I didn't have any on hand. I also used canned tomatoes because I didn't have any fresh. To spice it up I sprinkled the chicken with lemon pepper, and added some garlic. I also used one can of garlic and oregano canned tomatoes with a no salt added can of tomatoes and a garlic and oregano tomato sauce, with a no salt added tomato sauce. turned out perfect!! Our whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
this turned out a little thin - made it exactly as stated. served over mashed potatoes because i didn't have noodles on hand. maybe too much "water to cover"? added some barley (3/4 cup) to the remaining stew and it thickened up nicely after an hour. needs a little more seasoning than written. and, oops, i forgot to peel the tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p. smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Don't forget to peel the tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Added garlic, soy sauce, and a little ketchup. Also some other veggies. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Pretty good recipe. They family seemed to enjoy it. I would give it a 3, but based on my family's response, I'll give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was delicious and very easy. I used southern style hash browns and canned petite tomatoes to make a little easier. I didn't have tomato sauce on hand so I used a can of tomato soup. I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on the top when serving. It tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a great soup, especially for the cold months. I "doctored" it up a bit though, I used cayenne pepper, seasoned salt, pepper, and soy sauce. All the spices gave it a bit of a bite but, was very, very good. I will be making this again. I served this with a loaf of french bread with garlic spread on it. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Safford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delicious and very healthy. Great to cook ahead of time and eat the leftovers. Might cut back on the potatoes a bit but that is the only thing I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Fantastic, hearty, simple recipe. Used canned diced tomatos instead of fresh and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States