Chicken and Fresh Tomato Slow Cooker Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
this turned out a little thin - made it exactly as stated. served over mashed potatoes because i didn't have noodles on hand. maybe too much "water to cover"? added some barley (3/4 cup) to the remaining stew and it thickened up nicely after an hour. needs a little more seasoning than written. and, oops, i forgot to peel the tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p. smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Don't forget to peel the tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Added garlic, soy sauce, and a little ketchup. Also some other veggies. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Pretty good recipe. They family seemed to enjoy it. I would give it a 3, but based on my family's response, I'll give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was delicious and very easy. I used southern style hash browns and canned petite tomatoes to make a little easier. I didn't have tomato sauce on hand so I used a can of tomato soup. I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on the top when serving. It tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a great soup, especially for the cold months. I "doctored" it up a bit though, I used cayenne pepper, seasoned salt, pepper, and soy sauce. All the spices gave it a bit of a bite but, was very, very good. I will be making this again. I served this with a loaf of french bread with garlic spread on it. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Safford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delicious and very healthy. Great to cook ahead of time and eat the leftovers. Might cut back on the potatoes a bit but that is the only thing I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Fantastic, hearty, simple recipe. Used canned diced tomatos instead of fresh and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Good, but not worth repeating. My potatoes didn't cook on low for 8 hours, had to turn the crock pot on high the next day. just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very good! I used 1 can of tomato sauce and a quart jar of our own tomato sauce with tomato chunks. I added a bag of frozen Italian veggies. My husband and the kids loved it. And it made a really big batch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States