Chicken and Fresh Tomato Slow Cooker Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Outstanding meal ! Smelled up the whole house and we could hardly wait for dinner! Didn't have potatoes so I added a large cut up sweet potato. Always looking for dishes to add tomatoes from my garden to. Added small pare toms and rich tula's with a red onion, made the dish very colorful. Threw in 2 chicken and 1 beef bullion cube and a large teaspoon of trader joe's 21 seasoning salute, a healthy dose of red pepper flakes, then omitted the bay leaf. Didn't add any water because I threw in 8 frozen boneless chicken legs first. Perfect, easy & yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I had a big bowl of a potato-tomato bake that was leftovers,that I put in the crock,added a can of diced tomatoes,salt & pepper,red pepper,minced garlic, 2 jars of Swanson vegetable broth,3 carrots,2 celery,green onion,mushroom,sauted the chicken first-cut it up-then added to crock for the next nights supper. We all know how this will turn out so I'm going to give it 5 stars as I've made it before! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
It was really good, but the picture looks like there are some added ingredients. I left out the potatoes, my husband is trying to go lower carb. I'll do again, but may add cabbage, peppers, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
We found that it definitely needed salt, otherwise it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
i used a few more potatoes, a couple more chicken breasts, i used 2 cans campbells tomato soup and a can of chicken broth, 2 bay leaves, italian garlic seasoning, salt n pepper, 1 onion, 1 carrot, small can of chopped tomatoes, i left it on high all day from 9.30am until 6pm, potatoes melted in the mouth... mmmm it was absolutely delicious making again today but leaving out tomatoes (family dont like, tomato soup is fine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Sorry but we found this bland and runny. I was looking for more of a cacciatore-style stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Had to thicken up the sauce with cornstarch. Reasonably good and added some precooked broccoli and cauliflower to the mixture at the end as to make a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Used a bone-in skinless breast and cooked on low for 5 hours. Tossed in a yellow bell pepper that I needed to use. Also subbed onion for approx. 4 green onions. Chicken was very soft and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe. I cooked it without the potatoes, only because I didn't have any on hand. I also used canned tomatoes because I didn't have any fresh. To spice it up I sprinkled the chicken with lemon pepper, and added some garlic. I also used one can of garlic and oregano canned tomatoes with a no salt added can of tomatoes and a garlic and oregano tomato sauce, with a no salt added tomato sauce. turned out perfect!! Our whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
this turned out a little thin - made it exactly as stated. served over mashed potatoes because i didn't have noodles on hand. maybe too much "water to cover"? added some barley (3/4 cup) to the remaining stew and it thickened up nicely after an hour. needs a little more seasoning than written. and, oops, i forgot to peel the tomatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p. smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States