Chicken and Fresh Tomato Slow Cooker Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This a very good Italian-tasting stew. I used one tomato soup & one sauce. I also omitted the red paper flakes, just not a fan. I did not need to add any water, and there was just the right amount of broth. It did take a long time for the veggies to soften. Mine took a total of 7 hours of cook time. Would make again, just cut the veggies smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I served the stew with noodles. The stew was too salty for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
It was good - with a few modifications. I used bone-in skinless leg quarters instead of breasts; substituted sweet potatoes for regular potatoes, and didn't add any extra liquid. Also added a few cloves of fresh garlic, salt, and pepper. The consistency was that of a hearty chicken & tomato stew - no sides needed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I tweaked just a bit. Canned tomatoes drained. Dried herbs as I am out of Italian seasoning..After 6 hours on a low setting chicken fell apart and veggies were perfect. Rate this a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I try my very best to prepare the recipes from this site exactly as written because, from my understanding, that's what ratings are for -- to let each of us know exactly how good each recipe truly is as it is written. With that said, I did prepare this one as written and I feel I'm being generous in giving it 3 stars. The only reason I gave as many as 3 is that I can see that with some modifications this can be a truly excellent dish! My slow cooker needed no additional liquid added to keep the chicken covered during the entire 8 hours, thankfully. The resulting broth was thin and quite tasteless. Before making this I had the feeling that it was going to be quite bland -- and I was right. It had very little flavor. I do love the combination of vegetables and chicken but the sauce/broth needed a LOT of help. I won't use Italian seasoning in this when I make it again, but will substitute thyme and will also add other seasonings such as garlic powder or garlic salt, etc. I admit that once the cooking was done and I had sampled some of the broth, I did add a little sugar to brighten up the bland tomato flavor and threw in some garlic salt as well. Since I was making this to put up as freezer meals, I let it sit in a large bowl in the fridge overnight before dividing and freezing in portions. I decided to give it a taste the next morning beforehand and it was delicious and flavorful with the sugar & garlic salt having been added. So DO make this stew but do your own doctoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
did not like all the canned tomatoes I put in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I tried this today, using what I had in the house. I used a drained can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh ones, and I added some chopped celery and cabbage. I used a packet of Good Seasons Italian dressing instead of Italian seasoning.. gets away from an Italian flavor and encourages a little doctoring for a mild sweet and tangy mode. I added a little sugar and three times the red pepper flakes suggested. I served this in a soup bowl with crusty bread and butter. Hearty, comforting and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made it yesterday with just a few changes from the original recipe: 1. I made it on the stove instead of in a slow cooker. Took about 4 hours instead of 7. 2. I added 1 can of diced tomatoes in addition to the fresh cut tomatoes the recipe called for. 3. I didn't peel the potatoes. All the vitamins are there :) 4. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast and thighs - 5 pieces. The chicken shredded beautifully and the sauce was a touch soupy - like a stew, but that's what I was looking for. I made some rice to go with it and my family loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I had much the same results as some other reviewers--too much liquid. So I added rice to soak it up. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
only okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States