Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This was about as good as one could possibly ask for in a low fat chicken and dumplings recipe. The wife and I both loved it. As for the amount of water used, I filled an 8 quart pot about half way up with water then added the chicken, celery, onion and some poultry seasoning after it came to a boil. That worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
thank you for the only chix and dump recipe that doesn't call for canned condensed soups or other nonsense like that. i live outside the US and can't find that stuff here, so thanks for a wholesome, stick to your ribs, REAL HOMEMADE recipe. ¡buenisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made. Very easy to prepare even though I have never made dumplings before. My 2 year old loved it as well as my picky brother in law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MitzieX6

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Oh my! I am a southern girl who loves chicken and dumplings. Now that I am on my own, I crave them sometimes and don't have mom or granny to make them. This was sooo super easy (easy enough for a weeknight!) and delicious. I know granny spent all day on hers, but why if I can make them any night of the week? Plus, I had EVERYTHING on hand. I used fat free sour cream. And, I measured out how much water I put in my pot. My pot took about 10-11 cups. So, I added 10-11 bouillon cubes. After the bouillon dissolved, I used 1/2 c of that for my dumplings. I used the seasonings to taste, but with all the chicken bouillon, it didn't take much of everything. I also added a little garlic powder, used celery seed instead of celery, and used a little thyme. Since I don't like mine too thick, I made 1/2 of the cornstach mixture, but only used 1/4-1/2 of it. They definitely thicken even more on cooling, and stay a little thick after reheating the next day. Thanks so much for making a delicious childhood favorite a possibility for a busy, working, student far from home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Just like my mother used to make. With rolled out dumplings cooked in a wonderful stock. No short cuts to goodness here...outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MR. YO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
GREAT, I didnt have any cerlery so I added a can of cream of celery and some cerlery spice to it and it tasted great. Plus I cooked the chicken before I added it and it shortened the time to about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I have tried to make chicken and dumplings a million times and the dumplings always tasted like a clump of dough. This recipe has been a Godsend! I highly reccomend this recipe if you have trouble with dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
A fantastic "down home" chicken and dumplings recipe that's easy enough for a beginner! At the suggestion of other reviews, I added a quarter teaspoon of sage and thyme and omitted the parsley... it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I had never made homemade chicken and dumplings before, and this recipe was easy, and wonderful! I did have a couple of problems that I had to change though. For the dumplings, 2 cups of flour was not enough, the dough was way to sticky. I had to add an extra cup. Also, I used roughly 10 cups of water, and 8 buillon cubes instead of 4. I didn't use parsley, I used thyme and added garlic powder as well. In the end when I thickened it, I used milk instead of water. My husband and I both loved it, I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBEREP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is as good, if not better, than the same-named dish a that barrel place!! My kids had a great time making the dumplings, which they cut with a pizza cutter. I use whole chicken breast tenderloins, and I cut down the amount of cornstarch. And when the kids don't want the celery & onions IN the final dish-I just cook the chicken with those things cut in half so they can be fished out easily before adding the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States