Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I have tried to make chicken and dumplings a million times and the dumplings always tasted like a clump of dough. This recipe has been a Godsend! I highly reccomend this recipe if you have trouble with dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
My whole family really likes this one. The only change I make to it is to add a couple of bay leaves to it and sometimes double the amount of dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Good recipe. I used less H2O and added sage and poultry seasoning to the broth as one review suggested. I also used whole wheat flour and added 1 cup of sliced carrots for the kiddos...the family enjoyed the meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This was about as good as one could possibly ask for in a low fat chicken and dumplings recipe. The wife and I both loved it. As for the amount of water used, I filled an 8 quart pot about half way up with water then added the chicken, celery, onion and some poultry seasoning after it came to a boil. That worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
GREAT, I didnt have any cerlery so I added a can of cream of celery and some cerlery spice to it and it tasted great. Plus I cooked the chicken before I added it and it shortened the time to about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Decent recipe but with a few holes. I wasn't sure how much water to simmer the chicken in or when to put in the onion. I used the directions for the bullion (1 cube for 1 cup of water) but was disappointed with how salty the finished result was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This was really good my children loved it, even the very little ones. It was so rich you would never think it was low fat. I will be makeing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Just like my mother used to make. With rolled out dumplings cooked in a wonderful stock. No short cuts to goodness here...outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MR. YO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Wonderful comfort food. My only complaint would be that it was a little on the bland side. I added some thyme and sage to the broth, and it turned out just fantastic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
The dumplings are good. Not like my Great Grandfathers, But good. Did not taste the sour cream and is a good alternative to shortening or lard. I added two bay leaves to the broth, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States