Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Agree with other posts - dumplings were thick and rubbery. The broth was bland and requires a whole lot of something else. Also, the directions were inconsistent and confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy R Keith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I added spice and baking powder to the dumplings, but they were still too thick and rubbery. The flavor of the broth was good (although I added cayanne pepper, seasoning salt, and carrots), but I MUST continue looking for a better recipe for the dumplings, which were OK, edible, but disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This turned out pretty good - the dumplings were great (love me some flat dumplings!) I did add carrots and some thyme. I also used homemade stock instead of bullion that was in my freezer and needed to be used up. Thanks for the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is as good, if not better, than the same-named dish a that barrel place!! My kids had a great time making the dumplings, which they cut with a pizza cutter. I use whole chicken breast tenderloins, and I cut down the amount of cornstarch. And when the kids don't want the celery & onions IN the final dish-I just cook the chicken with those things cut in half so they can be fished out easily before adding the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I followed the recipe...the chicken was great....the dumplings were horrible. They didn't "fluff" up at all....actually they became dough bricks that sunk to the bottom. I recommend the chicken portion..although I did add fresh garlic for flavor....the dumplings were hard and heavy. I will make the chicken part again, but will use a different dumpling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I think this recipe has the best ingredients for a light and fluffy dumpling. The dough should be just past the sticky stage (does that make sense?) and should feel soft. I hand shred my chicken and make short strips of dumplings. Remember, you need a lot of salt and pepper to make this dish, but I know some Louisiana folks who add some creole seasoning for some kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I should have paid more attention to the previous review and added baking powder to the dumpling mix. Dumplings were chewy blobs. I wanted to follow the recipe as it was written. My only change was browning the chicken pieces in the pot first to add a little extra flavor. I need to find a recipe that does not call for a mix as I am not in the States & don't have access to most premade mixes & soups. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Isn't there an error in this recipe? I expected it to have baking powder in the biscuit dough. The dumplings were heavy without it. I think it should be added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe was awesome! I had never made homemade chicken and dumplings before, and this recipe was easy, and wonderful! I did have a couple of problems that I had to change though. For the dumplings, 2 cups of flour was not enough, the dough was way to sticky. I had to add an extra cup. Also, I used roughly 10 cups of water, and 8 buillon cubes instead of 4. I didn't use parsley, I used thyme and added garlic powder as well. In the end when I thickened it, I used milk instead of water. My husband and I both loved it, I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBEREP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
A fantastic "down home" chicken and dumplings recipe that's easy enough for a beginner! At the suggestion of other reviews, I added a quarter teaspoon of sage and thyme and omitted the parsley... it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States