Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
With a few modifications, this tasted just like my mom's recipe! I boiled the chicken in 4 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups of cream of celery soup and 1 cup of water. I also added carrots, half a tsp of ground cumin and half a tsp of garlic powder. This will definitely be added to my winter comfort food rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I changed the recipe up a bit, but it turned out excellent! I used chicken broth to boil the chicken, instead of water, and I added a few cloves of garlic with the chicken. I also added a few other random seasonings that I had in the cupboard. The last thing I changed was that I didn't add the flour and water to thicken the soup, because the dumplings thickened it plenty. I had been looking for an easy chicken and dumpling recipe, and this was it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miles City, Montana, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Dumplings were gummy lumps and had no taste. I tried adding 1/2 tsp salt and 1 1/2 tsp baking powder to flour mixture but did not help. Perhaps I like my dumplings different from the other raters. My husband disliked it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
i have been making chicken and dumplings for awhile now..but, i have always used the store bought dumplings..i have been wanting to make them homeade..this dumpling recipe was PERFECT! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellant taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Love this recipe..very close to how I make mine but tried it this way and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My family loved it. I did add celery and onion and used the cornstarch instead of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Great recipe and easily adaptable to personal taste. I used seasoned chicken broth to replace water,then added leftover rotisserie chicken, carrots, peas, mushrooms and onion. I thickened the mixture with skim milk and flour instead of water. Love the dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to recreate what my grandmother used to make when I was little. I used chicken broth instead of water, and added green onions, carrots, parsley, and celery. Turned out amazing, and I couldn't be happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Very tasty, but I made a few adjustments, reason for 4 stars. I cooked the chicken in chicken broth. I didn't add flour and water to the soup because the dumplings thicken it anyway. Also, I mixed chicken stock instead of milk to the baking mix so the dumplings would have a chicken flavor. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States