Chicken and Dumplings IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was exactly what i was llooking for like some just added my owen veggies that my fam eats. But this was the best recipe. My husband was in love. Said it tasted just like moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
WOW!!!!! 5 stars!!!! Carri, this is wonderful! I have not even finished simmering the dumplings yet and my mouth is salivating.... I followed the instructions left by all the other helpful raters- Broth instead of water, added 2 chx. bullion cubes, added carrots, celery, onion and garlic! This is my first time making chicken and dumplings, and I was about to follow the recipe Paula Deen has on her website( I am a southern woman, after all), but after reading terrible reviews, searched allrecipes and found this! Yum! Thanks in advance for the wonderful praise I am going to get from my hunky hubby for this delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKouri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This recipe was pretty good! My family liked it. Instead of water I added 3 teaspoons of chicken base the Amish Kitchen kind, to the 6 cups water and I think it gave it a great flavor. I also used 1/4 cup of cornstarch instead of 1/2 cup of flour, the consistency was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2tierd2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a great base recipe that can easily be adapted to your liking. Like others, I used chicken broth instead of water. I added fresh thyme to my broth and used corn starch and water as a thickener (1/2 the amount of corn starch instead of the flour called for and a little water). You can't beat this quick meal on a cool dreary day. Everyone in my picky family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Great recipe. I did as others suggested in using chicken stock as well as adding more water and spices to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I grew up with this recipe and was looking for something to refresh my memory. It's mostly how I remember it except it was WAY too salty! Other than not adding any salt and wanting to add carrots and celery, this is the right idea. It's simple and quick and a perfect comfort meal on a cold winter night...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Good recipe. I boiled a left over chicken I had and shredded the meat. Added frozen peas and carrots. Thickened with cornstarch and used frozen biscuits. Fast and good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Used pancake mix in place of baking mix. Also added lots of carrots onions and celery. Delicious hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
No water for me on this recipe! Guess I really changed this up a lot. I used 1 1/2 (14 1/2 oz) cans of chicken broth. No butter and no flour and water. Used left over turkey to replace the chicken and since I was cooking for 2, cut the baking mix to 1 cup with 1/3 cup milk. The dumplings were light and fluffy just the way I we like them. The broth not being thicken, allowed the dumplings to obsorb some of the flavor of the broth. So good done this way. If you don't get light and fluffy dumplings with this recipe the baking mix may be old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have never been successful at chicken n dumplings (its always me) so I was a bit hesitant to give it a try once again, but I love them... needless to say... it worked! This recipe was simple and DUMMY proof i might add, me being the dummy! Family loved 'em, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States